Issue dealing with chrome popup

Ask general questions here.
andy.simpson
Posts: 44
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2018 8:59 am

Issue dealing with chrome popup

Post by andy.simpson » Tue Nov 26, 2019 10:32 am

I'm using Ranorex version 9.1.2 and have an issue dealing with a popup in chrome, my AUT will prompt you if your password will need updating in a set number of days with a popup. You cannot spy this popup at all using the separate spy tool, in fact while this popup is present it appears to lock you out of the whole browser window. The only way you can locate the popup objects is using spy within Ranorex itself which works fine and locates the objects very fast when highlighting them in the repository but when the test is run it simply cant find it, Here are the things that I have tried so far

Invoking Focus/Ensure visable on the item and its parent folders
disabling the cache on the repository items parent folder
Wait for exists
Hard delay

I've attached a screenshot of the fail and a snapshot of the object in spy, any advice id be grateful
Attachments
snapshot.rxsnp
(68.9 KiB) Downloaded 4 times
2019-11-26_0926.png
2019-11-26_0926.png (65.96 KiB) Viewed 70 times

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 5360
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Issue dealing with chrome popup

Post by odklizec » Tue Nov 26, 2019 10:43 am

Hi,

Have you tried to add Chrome process name to Ranorex Whitelist?

Also, the reason, why standalone Spy does not work (while the integrated one does) is, that the standalone Spy most probably uses different settings. Try to export settings from integrated Spy and load them in standalone Spy.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

andy.simpson
Posts: 44
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2018 8:59 am

Re: Issue dealing with chrome popup

Post by andy.simpson » Tue Nov 26, 2019 1:23 pm

Ahh sorry yes didn't mention that chrome has been added to the whitelist, I did wonder whether the popup itself was a different item on the whitelist but couldn't see it as a separate entity in task manager.

I tried copying the settings over and running as administrator but this doesn't seem to help, in spy when you select tracking all the elements grey out instantly

andy.simpson
Posts: 44
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2018 8:59 am

Re: Issue dealing with chrome popup

Post by andy.simpson » Tue Nov 26, 2019 1:24 pm

Ahh sorry yes didn't mention that chrome has been added to the whitelist, I did wonder whether the popup itself was a different item on the whitelist but couldn't see it as a separate entity in task manager.

I tried copying the settings over and running as administrator but this doesn't seem to help, in spy when you select tracking all the elements grey out instantly

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 5360
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Issue dealing with chrome popup

Post by odklizec » Tue Nov 26, 2019 3:03 pm

Hi,

Try to create a repo element, located out of "Documation" form and with xpath like this...

Code: Select all

/?/form[@title='tst-thor says']//button[@text='OK']
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

andy.simpson
Posts: 44
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2018 8:59 am

Re: Issue dealing with chrome popup

Post by andy.simpson » Tue Nov 26, 2019 3:55 pm

That works thanks :D I have removed the first two forms from the xpath and just search on the popup box the the OK button, running that in the test

I have attempted to incorporate that into a popup watcher, but when the same repo items are used the report shows that the popup watcher is instantiated it find the popup and the button but doesn't click the button :/ I've attached a picture of the test report
Attachments
Capture.PNG
Capture.PNG (55.43 KiB) Viewed 54 times
Capture.PNG
Capture.PNG (55.43 KiB) Viewed 55 times

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 5360
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Issue dealing with chrome popup

Post by odklizec » Wed Nov 27, 2019 7:16 am

Hi,

Please show the entire error. It seems that it actually fails to find the OK button? What xpath does the repo item have? Ideally, please post also the screenshot of the repository, where we can see the structure of both repo items. Thanks.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

andy.simpson
Posts: 44
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2018 8:59 am

Re: Issue dealing with chrome popup

Post by andy.simpson » Wed Nov 27, 2019 9:13 am

Ahh sorry I excluded the failure as it appears to occur on the next module rather than the popup watcher, Iv attached them for clarity

Could it be a timeout issue? as the base form has been removed it does take longer to spy the object
Attachments
Capture3.PNG
Capture3.PNG (4.81 KiB) Viewed 45 times
Capture2.PNG
Capture2.PNG (5.24 KiB) Viewed 45 times
Capture.PNG
Capture.PNG (73.68 KiB) Viewed 45 times

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 5360
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Issue dealing with chrome popup

Post by odklizec » Wed Nov 27, 2019 10:14 am

Ah sorry, I just thought that the error is coming from popupwatcher. Well, in this case, I don't have a clue why the button was not clicked. I would suggest to change the repo structure, like this:
ChromePopUpBox.png
ChromePopUpBox.png (4.98 KiB) Viewed 42 times
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

andy.simpson
Posts: 44
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2018 8:59 am

Re: Issue dealing with chrome popup

Post by andy.simpson » Wed Nov 27, 2019 11:10 am

OK that still seems to be an issue, I'll ref it to Ranorex support and let you know how I get on

Thanks v much for your advice