Issue with multiple windows

Bug reports.
bhargav
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2018 7:51 am

Issue with multiple windows

Post by bhargav » Mon Mar 05, 2018 8:01 am

Hello,
Good morning!

My team is going through difficult times fixing multiple windows issue as mentioned below.

In one machine Ranorex could recognize controls in multiple windows but others facing issues with the same(with same setup).Some times reinstalling would work. And problem shows up again. FYI: Both windows are from same location and same exe.

Thanks,
Bhargav

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3930
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Issue with multiple windows

Post by odklizec » Mon Mar 05, 2018 8:57 am

Hi,

Unfortunately, without knowing more details about your problem (EXACT error messages) and application under test (at very least Ranorex snapshot...NOT screenshot!), there is nothing anyone here can do or suggest. Also, we need to know what Ranorex version do you use? Could you please provide more details about your problem?
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

bhargav
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2018 7:51 am

Re: Issue with multiple windows

Post by bhargav » Mon Mar 05, 2018 1:44 pm

Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s):
/form[@controlname='TemplateViewer']/?/?/element[@win32parentwindowlevel='2' and @win32ownerwindowlevel='0']/container[@automationid='templateViewHost']/?/?/tabpagelist[@automationid='tcMainTabs']/?/?/container[@automationid='UserControl']/container
Ranorex version: 8.0.0
OS version : Windows 10 Enterprise , Version 1607 , Os Build 14393.2035
HW configuration: 24 GB RAM,I7 2.70 Processor

bhargav
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2018 7:51 am

Re: Issue with multiple windows

Post by bhargav » Mon Mar 05, 2018 1:52 pm

Consider I have opened a record in new window and waiting for the data to be loaded before proceeding.
Please follow the code snippet below. This I have written in a test step.
The problem is, On line 3 Automation crashes without executing catch block.

Code: Select all

try
			{
			while(!xyzWPFUserControl.Enabled)
			{}
			}
			catch(System.Exception e)
			{
				Report.Error(e.ToString());
			}

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3930
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Issue with multiple windows

Post by odklizec » Mon Mar 05, 2018 2:13 pm

Hi,

Have you tried Ranorex.Exception instead of System.Exception? Additionally, are you pretty sure there should be issued an exception?
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration