Item Status missing

Technology specific object identification, supported applications, web technologies, and 3rd party controls.
arutscheidt
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2015 8:10 am

Item Status missing

Post by arutscheidt » Wed Nov 22, 2017 9:27 am

Hello everybody,

our developers want to set the AutomationProperties.ItemStatus for me to provide some information that I can use in my tests.

Unfortunately I can not find this attribute in my tree.

I am using the WPF Improved Only plug-in. When using the UIA I can find the attribute, but UIA is not good for element recognition in our project.

As a quick 'n' dirty fix we use the UID of one of the unused nodes, but I think this is not as professional as it should be.

Is there a way to use ItemStatus in WPF Improved mode?

Is it a bug or feature?

Note: We are limited in code accessibility, because the target is a third party tool.

Thanks in advance

A. Rutscheidt
Attachments
Snap.zip
Snapshot
(207.82 KiB) Downloaded 18 times
Using Ranorex Studio 8.0.1

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3914
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Item Status missing

Post by odklizec » Wed Nov 22, 2017 9:34 am

Hi,

I think it would greatly help Ranorex folks if you could post snapshots taken both with UIA and WPF Improved Only mode, so they can see the difference. Ideally, please post also a small sample app, featuring an element with AutomationProperties.ItemStatus attribute. Thanks.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

arutscheidt
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2015 8:10 am

Re: Item Status missing

Post by arutscheidt » Wed Dec 06, 2017 8:07 am

Sorry for waiting so long, here is the UIA SnapShot.

The TreeItems have an ItemStatus attribute. They are the same than the Elements with the long id in the other snap.

The programm is build with WPF, so why don't we have the ItemStatus in WPF Improved mode, but in UIA.

Unfortunately I can not post code or our program. (secret)

Thanks in advance.
Attachments
SnapUIA.rxsnp
(789.24 KiB) Downloaded 19 times

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3914
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Item Status missing

Post by odklizec » Wed Dec 06, 2017 8:15 am

Hi,

Could you please post also the snapshot taken with WPF Improved mode? Thanks.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

arutscheidt
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2015 8:10 am

Re: Item Status missing

Post by arutscheidt » Wed Dec 06, 2017 1:08 pm

See first post :-)
Using Ranorex Studio 8.0.1

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Item Status missing

Post by Support Team » Fri Dec 08, 2017 1:07 pm

Hi arutscheidt,

Thank you for providing those snapshots.
We are currently working on a fix for a similar issue, but to verify if this is really related, we would need a small sample application.
Would you think it would be possible to send us one by email? ([email protected])

Thank you in advance.
Regards,
Markus (S)
.
Image

arutscheidt
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2015 8:10 am

Re: Item Status missing

Post by arutscheidt » Tue Jan 16, 2018 12:10 pm

Sorry for being late.

unfortunately I have no access to the code of the WPF programmers, but in WPF there are some attributes (like ItemStatus and others)
that can not be found by Ranorex in "WPF improved" mode.

There are some others I found in the last weeks, but I am not sure if I should open a new thread.
As an example there are red borders around Text elements when the validation failes, but I can not find a flag/value in any of the elements attributes.
Or dashed borders around selected elements, but no "selected" attribute set. (I heared there are different 'selected/focus' attributes like 'focused', 'keyboard focused', etc and they are all different)
...etc.

Are there some secret Windows/WPF-Attributes that cannot be found by Ranorex?

Thanks in advance

A. Rutscheidt
Using Ranorex Studio 8.0.1

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Item Status missing

Post by Support Team » Fri Jan 19, 2018 3:41 pm

Hi arutscheidt,

Thank you for the additional information.
As mentioned, an update for the WPFimproved plug-in should be available in the next upcoming version, but to ensure every attribute is recognized properly, we would need a small sample application.

Please let me know if this would be possible.

Thank you,
Markus (S)
.
Image

arutscheidt
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2015 8:10 am

Re: Item Status missing

Post by arutscheidt » Tue Jan 23, 2018 2:06 pm

Hi Markus,

unfortunately not.

We develop a new product and it is secret.

But for testing you could use a textbox with validation, enter a non valid value and see, if the "red border" state is recognizable by Ranorex.
I think the "red border" is a standard behavior in WPF?

2nd you make a list of listitems and make them NOT focusable and NOT selectable.
Then click on an item. Maybe it will not get focus or selection state, but is surrounded with a dashed border (just for the user to see where he clicked)

The developer told me, there is an attribute in WPF called ItemStatus. I don't know the exact type, but in UIA mode you can see it, but not in WPF improved.

Maybe we can arrange a dialog in a private session. German would be great, too :-D
So I could ask the developers to prepare an example without real data.

Regards,
Alex
Using Ranorex Studio 8.0.1

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Item Status missing

Post by Support Team » Wed Jan 24, 2018 8:13 pm

Hi Alex,

Thank you for your response.

I am going to create a small sample app to verify everything locally, but having a remote session is also no problem.
You can contact us directly using our webform. Please also add the forum topic as a reference.

Thanks,
Markus (S)
.
Image

arutscheidt
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2015 8:10 am

Re: Item Status missing

Post by arutscheidt » Thu Mar 08, 2018 9:16 am

Sorry for being late.

The Webform leads to a paywall and I don't have a SupportID.

Times went by and so this topic became unimportant. We solved it in another way.

I am sitting in a customer network and remote sessions are not allowed.

So I think we should close this topic.
Maybe newer versions of Ranorex fix problems with WPF recognition.

Sorry for inconvenience.
Using Ranorex Studio 8.0.1

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Item Status missing

Post by Support Team » Mon Mar 12, 2018 2:45 pm

Hi Alex,

No worries.
I'm not sure what you mean with paywall, but may I ask you to get in touch with our authentication service ([email protected]) if you are having issues with creating your ticket online.

As mentioned, we made some improvements in the WPF plugins for the upcoming release, so if you still face any issues with the next Ranorex version, please do not hesitate to contact us directly. I am sure we can analyze this issue directly with you :).

Thanks,
Markus (S)
.
Image