Java AWT/Swing error

Ask general questions here.
travisf
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2019 5:06 pm

Java AWT/Swing error

Post by travisf » Fri Feb 08, 2019 6:03 pm

Hello,

I am trying to test an application, but when I hit record in Ranorex and attempt to interact with it, I get this warning:
Ranorex Technology Limitation
Technology: Java AWT/Swing
Failed to instrument Java process. Please make sure you have enough privileges to access the process.
Process: 'javaw' (pid 11736)

Ranorex also sees the window as one object in the repository.

I have added the application, and the process it starts to my Whitelist.

Ranorex Version 8.3.2

Thanks in advance for any advice.

Travis

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 5052
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Java AWT/Swing error

Post by odklizec » Fri Feb 08, 2019 8:52 pm

Hi,

Have you tried to run Ranorex Studio as administrator?
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

travisf
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2019 5:06 pm

Re: Java AWT/Swing error

Post by travisf » Mon Feb 11, 2019 7:24 pm

On VMs where I can, this does seem to work, but it's not always a possibility. Are there any other workarounds?

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 5052
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Java AWT/Swing error

Post by odklizec » Mon Feb 11, 2019 8:14 pm

Hi,

In a therory, administrator mode should be required only in case the test is started in debug mode. So make sure the test is not started with attached debugger.

However, experience told us that there are some UI controls and technologies, which still require admin mode :) Unfortunately, there is not much anyone here can do or suggest without examining the app under test. So if disabling debugger does not solve your problem, I would suggest to contact directly Ranorex support (via their support form) and request a remote session with them, so they can evaluate your problem in real-time and possibly suggest a workaround (if there is any).
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration