Jenkins problem

Ask general questions here.
im_njams
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2020 3:00 pm

Jenkins problem

Post by im_njams » Wed Oct 14, 2020 3:10 pm

Hello,
I have a one problem with build a Ranorex test in jenkins. I create a success solution on two notebooks and every time when I create a new build in jenkins, it take some old build. And every time build is failed. What is the best way to fix it?
Every day I commit a test to svn, and jenkins is connected with svn. I change a parameters in build but I have the same issue.

Thank you,
Ivan

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 6360
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Jenkins problem

Post by odklizec » Mon Oct 19, 2020 6:22 am

Hi,

I'm afraid, it's hard to tell what's wrong, without actually seeing your Jenkins setup. I'm using Jenkins on a regular basis (currently with TFS, previously with SVN too) and I've never experienced problem like you describe. What you can try is to delete entire SVN folder on target Jenkins machine, where you run your tests and initiate new build. This should get most recent version of your Ranorex project. If not, then there is most probably no most recent version in SVN? :)
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

im_njams
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2020 3:00 pm

Re: Jenkins problem

Post by im_njams » Wed Oct 21, 2020 2:13 pm

Alright, I will try to delete the entire SVN folder.
Thank you.
Ivan

im_njams
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2020 3:00 pm

Re: Jenkins problem

Post by im_njams » Fri Oct 23, 2020 8:44 am

Hello,
I delete entire SVN folder, and there are no changes. I create another SVN folder with Ranorex files. And any time when I change something, jenkins does not recognize it. Do you think that maybe is it Ranorex problem? I will show you in pictures in attachments example what I mean. You can see that the test are not the same. There must be the way how to fix it.

Thanks,
Ivan
Attachments
Inked2020-10-23_09h38_29_LI.jpg
Inked2020-10-23_09h38_29_LI.jpg (1.08 MiB) Viewed 136 times
2020-10-23_09h40_25.png
2020-10-23_09h40_25.png (155.87 KiB) Viewed 136 times

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 6360
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Jenkins problem

Post by odklizec » Fri Oct 23, 2020 8:54 am

Hi,

No, I don't think that this problem is Ranorex related. I rather think it's configuration-related issue. Could you please share Jenkins configuration, especially Ranorex-related settings?

Are you sure that you are using proper Run Configuration and that all required SmartFolders are included in this configuration?
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

im_njams
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2020 3:00 pm

Re: Jenkins problem

Post by im_njams » Fri Oct 23, 2020 3:37 pm

Hi,

that was also my thinking. I am sending you a attachment where is configuration of jenkins. There are a lot of string parameters and Pipeline (Subversion). A principe is that jenkins took a Ranorex solution from svn. One question, how can I see that are all required SmartFolder included in configuration?
Attachments
2020-10-23_16h36_25.png
2020-10-23_16h36_25.png (57.02 KiB) Viewed 131 times

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 6360
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Jenkins problem

Post by odklizec » Fri Oct 23, 2020 4:42 pm

Hi,

At first, you should definitely change the checkout strategy. Update may be faster, but may not get all changes.

At next, I would suggest to load Jenkins solution in Ranorex (directly on target machine). This way you can check if solution contains all recent changes.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration