Jira Integration, required fields

Bug reports.
boegvald
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2019 9:02 am

Jira Integration, required fields

Post by boegvald » Mon Sep 16, 2019 12:43 pm

I am trying to setup Jira Integration using https://www.ranorex.com/help/latest/int ... tegration/, and do get the following error:

Annotation 2019-09-16 133510.png
Annotation 2019-09-16 133510.png (40.67 KiB) Viewed 156 times

I guess the 'Please fill in all required fields' is because of the 'Change Category" field. But I am given no option to fill in that field.

Best Regards

Bo

Ranorex v.9.1.0

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 5459
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Jira Integration, required fields

Post by odklizec » Mon Sep 16, 2019 1:09 pm

Hi,

How I understand it, your Jira configuration simply does not allow automatic issue handling and your will most probably have to edit some fields with Manual issue handling?

Check this paragraph in Ranorex user guide:
Some field types can’t be specified automatically, which means you need to fill them in manually if you create issues with the report button. For automatic issue handling, they will remain empty unless you update the issue manually after it’s been created.
https://www.ranorex.com/help/latest/int ... rationfile
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

boegvald
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2019 9:02 am

Re: Jira Integration, required fields

Post by boegvald » Wed Sep 18, 2019 3:04 pm

I doubt it is Jira that is the limitation, as we do create issues automatically from other systems.

So, I guess the words in the user guide shall be interpreted something like "We (Ranorex) do not at the moment support certain field types. These will be left blank and will have to be updated manually. If one such field is mandatory, Ranorex cannot create the issue".

An option I will pursue is to see if I can have the field made optional in our enterprise wide template (wish me luck :-))

Then request Ranorex to support more fields types.

Best Regards
Bo

boegvald
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2019 9:02 am

Re: Jira Integration, required fields

Post by boegvald » Fri Sep 20, 2019 8:25 am

I succeeded in getting the field changed to be non-mandatory! So no need from my side for Ranorex to support more field types.... for now ;-)