License dialog - history is empty

Bug reports.
arutscheidt
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2015 8:10 am

License dialog - history is empty

Post by arutscheidt » Mon Mar 19, 2018 7:59 am

Hello all,

I am working at different offices and have to use different license servers.
The "Configure Ranorex License" dialog offers a combo box for the server name.
I can imagine this was meant to show a history of recent servers?

For me it is not working, the list is always empty and I have to enter the names manually (if i remember the IPs :D )

Is this a bug or a feature?
Maybe some settings?

Thanks
A. Rutscheidt

-------------------------------
System: Win 10
Rx-Vers: 8.x
License: floating
Attachments
20180319_074732.png
I am talking about this dialog
20180319_074732.png (13.45 KiB) Viewed 195 times
Using Ranorex Studio 8.0.1

ahoisl
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
Posts: 125
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2007 8:16 am

Re: License dialog - history is empty

Post by ahoisl » Mon Mar 19, 2018 12:28 pm

Actually, this was not meant to work as a history and is not implemented as such. The drop down instead lists the license manager found on your local network, discovered by UDP broadcasts.
If UDP is disabled or you are behind a firewall or VPN connection, the drop down might be empty.

If a history would help you, please just file a feature request here:
https://uservoice.ranorex.com/

Thank you!

Regards,
Alex
Ranorex Team

arutscheidt
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2015 8:10 am

Re: License dialog - history is empty

Post by arutscheidt » Tue Mar 20, 2018 1:19 pm

Unfortunately the UserVoice seems not to work.

I posted another topic twice because i had no feedback about the status and thought there was a submission failure.

This was last week...
Using Ranorex Studio 8.0.1

ahoisl
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
Posts: 125
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2007 8:16 am

Re: License dialog - history is empty

Post by ahoisl » Tue Mar 20, 2018 1:44 pm

arutscheidt wrote:Unfortunately the UserVoice seems not to work.
Can you be a bit more specific? I just tried to search for ideas and had no problem. Do you have a JS blocker running in your browser?

UserVoice is an external service which is not under control by Ranorex. It's a service used by thousands of companies and they will probably be grateful to hear how they can improve their service :D

Regards,
Alex
Ranorex Team

arutscheidt
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2015 8:10 am

Re: License dialog - history is empty

Post by arutscheidt » Wed Mar 21, 2018 2:23 pm

I posted two Ideas to another topic but they did not appear in the list.
Maybe they are not activated by any moderator right now oth somthing like that.

Just search for the word "JUnit" and ther should be two posts from me:
- "Changing test case attributes for junit export file at runtime" and
- "Manipulation of Reports and JUnit file"

Both not submitted.
They both mean the same issue, but I didnt get any feedback if my post was accepted or rejected for over one week so I postet again.

Answering to other posts works so I don't think it is a JS problem. I use NoScript and will never allow google or facebook spyscripts :D

I did not get any JS error message. On most pages they call me to activate JS in order to use their pages.

Is there any mod who checks posts before showing them?
Using Ranorex Studio 8.0.1

arutscheidt
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2015 8:10 am

Re: License dialog - history is empty

Post by arutscheidt » Wed Mar 21, 2018 2:27 pm

I tried it again and got the same message:

Your idea is being processed and will appear shortly.

How long is "shortly"?
Using Ranorex Studio 8.0.1

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: License dialog - history is empty

Post by Support Team » Wed Mar 21, 2018 4:33 pm

Hi arutscheidt,

UserVoice does not require new ideas to be confirmed by an administrator (or any similar functionality). I understand that you experience a different scenario and your ideas are not being posted. I'm sorry for this inconvenience. The info-message you're describing also popped up on my screen for a second when I posted a test idea, but disappeared after a few moments.

By now I expect that this is a local/isolated issue in your environment or a temporary issue with UserVoice. We didn't get any (other) complaints yet.

However, if you still experience this issue the next time you try it, then I'd suggest the following scenario:
As a workaround you could send your requests to [email protected] and we post the ideas in your name (not your account).

Please let us know if there are any changes with this situation (and if you want us to post your ideas).

Best regards,
Roland
Product Management Team
.
Image