LineageGlueRule errors in FF (Ranorex 8.1)

Bug reports.
Mariam
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Mar 18, 2019 12:02 pm

Re: LineageGlueRule errors in FF (Ranorex 8.1)

Post by Mariam » Mon Mar 18, 2019 12:27 pm

Support Team wrote:
Tue Apr 10, 2018 3:08 pm
Here is an extension which should fix the timeout issues (not the tab-id related debug messages). It would be great if you could give it a try.

We plan to release it later this week with Ranorex 8.1.1, which should also get rid of most "tab-id" debug messages.

[email protected]
Michael
Ranorex Team
Hello Michel,
I got the same error of "LineageGlueRule" when runing a record of my testcase on ranorex 8.1 :
"LineageGlueRule 'We_child_elements' caused InvalidCastException on Execute. "
I am working on an application web-based (Browser : Internet Explorer) on Windows 8.1
I guess the extention that you provided in this comment is for FF Browser.
Is there an extension for IE browser to solve this problem because it occurs permanently on my testsuites and it is really slowing it down ?

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 6188
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: LineageGlueRule errors in FF (Ranorex 8.1)

Post by odklizec » Tue Mar 19, 2019 8:20 am

Hi,

Ranorex 8.1 is too old and no longer supported. Please try to reproduce your problem with most recent 8.3.3 or 9.0 (I would suggest to stick with 8.3.3 until 9.0.1 release). Most recent Ranorex browser plugins, could be installed with Ranorex instrumentation wizard, which is a part of Ranorex installation.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

anitaamlani96
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jun 03, 2019 8:01 pm

Re: LineageGlueRule errors in FF (Ranorex 8.1)

Post by anitaamlani96 » Mon Jun 03, 2019 8:12 pm

I'm getting these LineageGlueRule errors. I am using Ranorex 9.1 and am running the automation on Chrome. I'm testing a web app and the error occurs after the website loads and then it is supposed to find the Username field to go ahead and login. It doesn't find the username object and instead shows "lineagegluerule chrome web child elements caused ranorex exception on execute..." The rest of the test does not run.

qa-auto
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Aug 05, 2019 10:46 pm

Re: LineageGlueRule errors in FF (Ranorex 8.1)

Post by qa-auto » Thu Jan 30, 2020 10:36 pm

Seems this is still not fixed for Chrome in Plugin version 1.2.9. Any update? It affects running time.

Ranorex.RanorexException: Error in MsgHostDom call: Tab id does not exist
at static System.Void System.Runtime.Remoting.Proxies.RealProxy.HandleReturnMessage(System.Runtime.Remoting.Messaging.IMessage reqMsg, System.Runtime.Remoting.Messaging.IMessage retMsg)
at System.Void System.Runtime.Remoting.Proxies.RealProxy.PrivateInvoke(System.Runtime.Remoting.Proxies.MessageData msgData, System.Int32 type)
at System.Void Ranorex.Plugin.ChromeWebChildrenRule.Execute(Ranorex.Core.GlueRuleExecutionState state)
at System.Void Ranorex.Core.ElementEngine.ApplyGlueRules(Ranorex.Core.Element element, Ranorex.Core.GlueRuleExecutionStateImpl state, System.Boolean includeRemotes)
at System.Collections.Generic.IList`1[Ranorex.Core.Element] Ranorex.Core.ElementEngine.ApplyGlueRules(Ranorex.Core.Element element, System.Boolean includeRemotes)
at System.Collections.Generic.IList`1[Ranorex.Core.Element] Ranorex.Core.Element.GetChildren(Ranorex.Libs.CacheSession session)
at System.Collections.Generic.IList`1[Ranorex.Core.Element] Ranorex.Core.Element.get_Children()

foals11
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2019 9:19 am

Re: LineageGlueRule errors in FF (Ranorex 8.1)

Post by foals11 » Mon Feb 03, 2020 1:02 pm

Hi,

@anitaamlani96 as you are on Ranorex 9.1, I would suggest updating Ranorex to the latest version.

@qa-auto I had a similar issue, in my case it helped setting "Enable JS-based RanorexXPath evaluation" to false.
You have to open the plugins settings to turn it off (see my attachement).

regards,
Attachments
JS-based.png
JS-based.png (17.84 KiB) Viewed 315 times

Geci
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2013 1:16 pm

Re: LineageGlueRule errors in FF (Ranorex 8.1)

Post by Geci » Thu Feb 06, 2020 9:05 am

Hello,

i use Ranorex 9.2 and i have I also have problems with "LineageGlueRule". For me, the following errors always occur during the test run.

Following line throws exception:

Code: Select all

repoItemInfo.Exists(time);
Exception {"Fehler beim Vergleichen von zwei Elementen im Array."} System.InvalidOperationException
InnerException {"Der Thread wurde abgebrochen."} System.Exception {System.Threading.ThreadAbortException}
And in the Log window shows:
RanorexError.PNG
RanorexError.PNG (5.74 KiB) Viewed 291 times
As a result, the tests sometimes fail to go through.
Is this the same problem and is there any news? Because the tests are unreliable.

Best regards
GeCi

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 6188
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: LineageGlueRule errors in FF (Ranorex 8.1)

Post by odklizec » Thu Feb 06, 2020 9:42 am

Hi,

This kind of issue is hard to debug without seeing the app under test and exact test steps (ideally entire test suite). Also, this thread is about LieageGlueRule errors, thrown if accessing web elements in Firefox browser. From the error you posted, it looks like your app under test is a desktop-based app and not web browser? Have you tried to add the app under test to the Ranorex whitelist? Could you please post a Ranorex snapshot (NOT screenshot) of the problematic UI element, which throws this error? Thanks.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

Geci
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2013 1:16 pm

Re: LineageGlueRule errors in FF (Ranorex 8.1)

Post by Geci » Thu Feb 06, 2020 10:23 am

Hi,

unfortunately, at the moment the error occurs, I cannot take a SnapShot because I am checking whether a dialog appears. The control is a Windows MessageBox that is displayed by a WPF application.

System:
Betriebsystemname Microsoft Windows 10 Pro
Version 10.0.18362 Build 18362
Betriebsystemhersteller Microsoft Corporation
Systemtyp x64-basierter PC
Prozessor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-8700 CPU @ 3.20GHz, 3192 MHz, 6 Kern(e), 12 logische(r) Prozessor(en)
Installierter physischer Speicher (RAM) 16,0 GB

Ranorex version: 9.2.0 +git e5ad4909
.NET Runtime version: 4.0.30319.42000

This Snapshot is when the messagebox appears (but the exception comes before the messagebox appears)
Snapshot.rxsnp
(13.83 KiB) Downloaded 14 times
Best regards
GeCi
Last edited by Geci on Thu Feb 06, 2020 10:55 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 6188
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: LineageGlueRule errors in FF (Ranorex 8.1)

Post by odklizec » Thu Feb 06, 2020 10:47 am

Hi,

At first, please update Ranorex with most recent 9.2.1. There were introduced some WPF-related bug fixes.
Additionally, make sure that there are installed all required system libs, eventually, reinstall them all:
https://www.ranorex.com/help/latest/ran ... uirements/
And finally, try to reproduce the problem on another PC. If the problem appears also on another PC, I would suggest to contact directly Ranorex support. There is unfortunately nothing else anyone here can do or suggest without seeing, at very least, a Ranorex snapshot of the problematic element/entire app under test + test steps (test suite) you are using. Ranorex folks will most probably ask for a remote session with you, to be able to analyze the problem.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

Geci
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2013 1:16 pm

Re: LineageGlueRule errors in FF (Ranorex 8.1)

Post by Geci » Fri Feb 07, 2020 8:56 am

Hello,

i updated to Ranorex 9.2.1 and the Snapshot can be found in my last entry.

Now there is no log message in the Log window, but

Code: Select all

repoItemInfo.Exists(time);
still throws an exception. However, this only seems to happen when you debug.

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 6188
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: LineageGlueRule errors in FF (Ranorex 8.1)

Post by odklizec » Fri Feb 07, 2020 9:19 am

Hi,

I still think there is a problem with .Net or VC runtime libs on your system. Have you tried to reproduce the problem on another PC?
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration