Localization: container NOt editable

Technology specific object identification, supported applications, web technologies, and 3rd party controls.
pramoodd
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Mar 26, 2013 8:45 am

Localization: container NOt editable

Post by pramoodd » Tue Apr 02, 2013 11:50 am

@admin
While using the ranorex tool for localizing a Windows app,
the container of a item changes from languages to language.
for example, consider a text box .
the RX path in English is :
/form[@title~'^Select\ Facility\ Connectio']/container[@caption~'^1\.\ Enter\ login\ informatio']/text[@class='Edit' and @instance='0']

but the Rx path in German is :

/form[@title~'^Anlagen-Verbindung\ auswah']/container[@caption~'^1\.\ Login-Informationen\ ei']/text[@class='Edit' and @instance='0']

so the path match fails giving a error.(While executing the testcase).

any solution to solve this localization issue.

Regards,
Praneeth Arnepalli

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Localization: container NOt editable

Post by Support Team » Wed Apr 03, 2013 3:13 pm

Hello,

You could use variables for your localization in the RxPath of your elements.
These variables could be bound to a data source where each row represents a language.

Example for RxPath:

Code: Select all

/form[@title=$varTitle]/container[@caption=$varCaption]/text[@class='Edit' and @instance='0']
Please take a look at our User Guide for more info.

Regards,
Markus (T)
.
Image

pramoodd
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Mar 26, 2013 8:45 am

Re: Localization: container NOt editable

Post by pramoodd » Thu Apr 04, 2013 8:44 am

Hi Admin,

the main elements are not editable.
how can we modify them.

Please find the screenshot below |(Issue2.jpg).
the form title is different for different languages and this is not editable.
so how is it possible to loclaization?


and one more Question.

I got a list and I wanna make a search of an item(Variable) in the list. (Test.jpg)

I tried tracing the value:

/form[@title~'^PowerFleet™\ Vision™\ v5\.4\ ']/container/form/element[@class='AfxWnd40' and @instance='2']/element[@controlid='3']


then , added the list search:

/list/listitem[@accessiblename=$GroupName]

then also The automation fails.

Help me with a early sollution.
Attachments
Test.jpg
Test.jpg (32.69 KiB) Viewed 940 times
Issue2.jpg
Issue2.jpg (98.11 KiB) Viewed 940 times

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Localization: container NOt editable

Post by Support Team » Fri Apr 05, 2013 2:55 pm

Hi,

In order to analyze this in detail could you please send ([email protected]) or post two Ranorex snapshot files (for each language)?
This would help us to analyze this issue is detail.

Thanks,
Markus
.
Image