Loss of data binding (without changing anything)

Bug reports.
amuenz
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu May 18, 2017 7:10 am

Loss of data binding (without changing anything)

Post by amuenz » Thu May 18, 2017 7:33 am

Hi,

since we updated to version 6.0.1 we have an issue with loosing specific data bindings. It seems that all data bindings of modules that are from other projects (within the solution) are removed frequently. It happens without a specific change. After auto-binding all the variables all works fine until the issue happens again.

It happens in three different solutions (2 older solutions, 1 new solution) simultaneously.

Regards,
Andreas
Attachments
databinding_oldsolution.png
data bindings of an old solution
databinding_oldsolution.png (41.42 KiB) Viewed 421 times
databinding_newsolution.png
data bindings of a new solution we are working on
databinding_newsolution.png (43.79 KiB) Viewed 421 times

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3908
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Loss of data binding (without changing anything)

Post by odklizec » Thu May 18, 2017 10:02 am

Hi,

I'm afraid, version 6.0.1 is quite old and no longer supported. I don't remember any binding specific issues in 6.x. But maybe it's a rare to see problem, related to the way you are mixing projects within solution? It's really hard to say what's wrong. I would suggest to try the latest 7.0.1 (or at least 6.2.1). Just to see if the problem is fixed in higher versions than yours.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

Vaughan.Douglas
Posts: 250
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 5:05 pm
Location: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

Re: Loss of data binding (without changing anything)

Post by Vaughan.Douglas » Thu May 18, 2017 1:24 pm

I have seen this myself. I have not spent time tracking down an underlying issue. I know I've seen it as late as 6.2.x, however I've only ever seen it when shifting between users over source control.
  • Are you using source control (GIT, SVN, something else?)
  • If so are you using an ignore file?
Other questions I have:
  • What kind of datasource/binding are you using (e.g. external Excel file, Simple datasheet, database,
    parameters)
  • If you're using a variety of datasource and global parameters, are they ALL ALWAYS unbound or only one/other?
  • If you're using Excel/CSV are you including the file with the project? if So how are you updating the data within that file?
I do think there is an issue here, but there just isn't even enough information to describe the problem much less find a solution.
Doug Vaughan