Making the Recording Modules Modular

Ranorex Spy, Recorder, and Studio.
Pixi6s
Posts: 92
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2011 8:57 pm

Making the Recording Modules Modular

Post by Pixi6s » Wed Jun 29, 2011 3:21 pm

Hi,

I am using Ranorex 3.0.2 and working on make modular recording to be recalled. I am running into some issues. I am making a lot of variables, but finding that within the same testcase I want the different instance of the same recording module to have different variables - is this possible?

Also, I need to fill variables with different data sources. The Name & Address type information is in a simple datatable but the meat of the test is from a SQL database. It only appears that I can set one data source per testcase.

In the current test I need to reuse the Name & Address type variables (they are unimportant for this test) for each loop and what the SQL database information is the meat. But I don't want to hardcode the variables in module because then I won't be able to reused the module for other tests where Name & Address are the meat.

Am I missing something? Is there another way to bind the variables besides a data source or hardcoding them?

Thanks

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Making the Recording Modules Modular

Post by Support Team » Wed Jun 29, 2011 8:21 pm

Hello,
I want the different instance of the same recording module to have different variables
That doesn't make sense. A variable in the recording corresponds to a variable in the generated class code. But whenever you use a recording in a test case you can bind different columns to the variables of the recording.
I can set one data source per testcase
Yes, but that shouldn't be a restriction, because you can create sub-testcases which allow you to bind different data sources to the same recording.
Is there another way to bind the variables besides a data source or hardcoding them?
With sub-testcases and well normalized tables you should be able to handle all situations without hard coding values. If you don't find a solution for your special case, please describe it in more detail, so that we can try to help you.

Regards,
Roland
Ranorex Support Team
.
Image

Pixi6s
Posts: 92
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2011 8:57 pm

Re: Making the Recording Modules Modular

Post by Pixi6s » Wed Jul 06, 2011 2:46 pm

I didn't realize the sub-testcases. Thanks