Manual remote execution - What about IE addon?

Ranorex Spy, Recorder, and Studio.
User avatar
BMT
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jun 12, 2020 11:48 am

Manual remote execution - What about IE addon?

Post by BMT » Tue Apr 27, 2021 8:49 am

If we want to execute Ranorex scripts without Ranorex Studio Installation, we would copy the newest builds of our scripts and the needed Runtime-Files onto the execution machine.
For several Ranorex Web Tests the IE is used, so the IE Ranorex Add-On is necessary.

Normally the add-on for the IE would be installed with Installation of Ranorex Studio.
But how to get the add-on onto the execution machine without Installation?
How can we install the IE Add-on manually?
Image

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 6544
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Manual remote execution - What about IE addon?

Post by odklizec » Tue Apr 27, 2021 10:09 am

Hi,

Technically speaking, Ranorex IE addon is just a performance helper and is not really required for elements identification in IE. And I'm afraid, there are no manual steps how to install IE addon without installing whole Ranorex. So it's either installing Studio on target machine, or live without IE addon (perfectly acceptable but slower performance of IE tests).

Is there a reason why you don't want or cannot install Ranorex Studio on target machine? It's recommended to install it on each machine, where you intend to run Ranorex tests, even if you don't want to use it there. If for nothing else, Ranorex installation will install all essential runtimes and libs and all browser plugins. And at second, in case of problems with tests, you will most probably have to debug them on target machine! You see, tests developed on machine A may not necessarily run the same on machine B. And therefore, may require debugging on machine B ;)
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

User avatar
BMT
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jun 12, 2020 11:48 am

Re: Manual remote execution - What about IE addon?

Post by BMT » Tue Apr 27, 2021 11:28 am

Hello Pavel,
thank you for the quick response.

Yes we see, that there are good reasons for installing the Ranorex Studio, but in this case we have special conditions.
We work on so called provisioning machines, what means: the Servers are new installed with every reboot (typically once the night).
This means first of all, that the Standard Image (master) will be copied on to the machine.
Ranorex is not part of this Image (because it's no Standard application), it's only needed for our test machine(s).
For this reason Ranorex has to be automatically new installed after every reboot. What normally works.

But in a few cases there are error in the Installation process, so that unfortunately ranorex is lacked on the Server.
The daily testsuite execution fails, the customer is unhappy.
So it would be a nice workaround to run the tests without Installation (on these days).
But I think without the IE add-on the stability of the tests will be unsatisfying.
There is a real advantage in testing Chrome and Firefox, where we can install the add-ons manually.

thank you, Matthias
Image

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 6544
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Manual remote execution - What about IE addon?

Post by odklizec » Tue Apr 27, 2021 11:37 am

Hi,

I understand. Well, I'm in a similar situation like you, except that we are using VM snapshots, where Ranorex Studio is a part of primary snapshot, to which we return after every test. If I were you, I would request to include Ranorex to the primary image.

All I know about manual installation of IE plugin is, that it would require a heavy digging in windows registry, to extract all relevant keys and GUIDs, which need to be saved in target machine's registry. Which means it would be a painful process ;) And this is also why it's done directly in Ranorex installation. Anyway, IE is more or less a dead horse ;) It's just a matter of time it will be gone for good.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

User avatar
BMT
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jun 12, 2020 11:48 am

Re: Manual remote execution - What about IE addon?

Post by BMT » Tue Apr 27, 2021 4:27 pm

Yes, thank you. But it's not to expect that Ranorex will be part of the Standard Image.
We have the Information that the using of the IE for our customer and our tests will end in about 2 months.
So things will be better soon - and we can give give that solution "execution without installation" then a justified try.

regards from Hamburg
Image

bettJo
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu May 06, 2021 4:44 pm

Re: Manual remote execution - What about IE addon?

Post by bettJo » Thu May 06, 2021 4:53 pm

On the other hand, you can add Ranorex to the main image and remove it after two months. This will allow you to solve the problem without reinventing the wheel. Although, I admit that you have reasons why you cannot do this.
Information on payday loans at Nacogdoches is collected at https://cashloansnearby.com/texas/nacogdoches/. On this site, you can find everything you need