Microsoft Silverlight

Technology specific object identification, supported applications, web technologies, and 3rd party controls.
SQA-SQA
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2009 2:05 pm

Microsoft Silverlight

Post by SQA-SQA » Mon Apr 27, 2009 9:47 am

Hi,

Does the tool support Microsoft Silverlight ? And if not, are there any future plans to do so ?

Thx

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Post by Support Team » Wed Apr 29, 2009 1:24 pm

Currently, there is only basic support for Silverlight.
Better integration is on our roadmap, but no release date has yet been set.

If you have a silverlight application which you want to test, please try to inspect that application with the Ranorex Spy and check if individual elements are identified correctly.

Michael
Ranorex Team

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Post by Support Team » Fri May 08, 2009 3:41 pm

Please also ensure that your Silverlight application is displayed as a windowed plug-in.
Simply set the Windowless property of your application to false to ensure accessibility for Ranorex.

More information about Windowless property:
http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library ... S.95).aspx

Jenö
Ranorex Team

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Post by Support Team » Tue May 12, 2009 9:39 am

Ranorex 2.1 will have enhanced support for Silverlight applications, e.g. the AutomationID of Silverlight controls will be available for identification. However, the requirement that the Silverlight application needs to be windowed (i.e. the Windowless property needs to be set to false) persists.

Regards,
Alex
Ranorex Support Team

bhavik
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2011 12:51 pm

Re: Microsoft Silverlight

Post by bhavik » Wed Feb 02, 2011 12:57 pm

Hi,

I have changed the property Windowless = 'false' but still when I try to record the script I am getting the error.

Is there any other setting which I need to change before I can start recording?

The application which I am trying to test is in Silverlight 4.0

Regards
Bhavik

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Microsoft Silverlight

Post by Support Team » Wed Feb 02, 2011 1:59 pm

Hi,
bhavik wrote:I have changed the property Windowless = 'false' but still when I try to record the script I am getting the error.

Please could you post us your Exception, because there could be a lot of things which could fail. And please post us the Ranorex version you are using currently.

Thanks in advance.

Regards,
Peter
Ranorex Team
.
Image