Migrate Ranorex v1.5 C# code to v2.3

Ask general questions here.
Sedes
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri May 07, 2010 11:51 pm

Migrate Ranorex v1.5 C# code to v2.3

Post by Sedes » Sat May 08, 2010 12:03 am

Hi there,

I've recently been given an project written before my time at my company. It appears as though it's been built in C# on Ranorex 1.5. I have managed ensure things work using the 1.5 Pro trial. However, now we're about ready to purchase some licenses and get things moving along on this project again but it seems as though there have been significant changes to the Ranorex libraries for 2.3 and all the deprecated functions are removed. Is there an easy (/any) way to migrate this legacy code to work with the new version without a complete re-write?

Thank you.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Migrate Ranorex v1.5 C# code to v2.3

Post by Support Team » Mon May 10, 2010 12:56 pm

Sedes wrote:Is there an easy (/any) way to migrate this legacy code to work with the new version without a complete re-write?
No, sorry, there is no automatic way to migrate 1.X Ranorex code to Ranorex version 2.X. For Ranorex 2.X we had to redesign the complete Ranorex framework to be able to cope with many different technologies; the Ranorex 1.X design was not flexible enough. Ranorex 2.X is therefore rather a new product than just a new version.

You can, however, install Ranorex 1.X and 2.X side-by-side, keeping your legacy code use Ranorex 1.X and start new automation projects with Ranorex 2.X. When you purchase Ranorex 2.X licenses, please get in contact with sales_at_ranorex.com and you will get 1.X licenses as well!

Regards,
Alex
Ranorex Team
.
Image

Sedes
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri May 07, 2010 11:51 pm

Re: Migrate Ranorex v1.5 C# code to v2.3

Post by Sedes » Tue May 11, 2010 12:12 am

Thank you for your help.