Migrating from Ranorex 4.1 to 5.1.

Best practices, code snippets for common functionality, examples, and guidelines.
kshekharkumar
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Feb 06, 2014 10:57 am

Migrating from Ranorex 4.1 to 5.1.

Post by kshekharkumar » Mon Dec 22, 2014 7:31 am

Hi,


I have to migrate from 4.1 to 5.1. Is there anything special I need to take care of?
Is there defined way to do that?

Thanks,
Shekhar

krstcs
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 2683
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 4:14 pm
Location: Austin, Texas, USA

Re: Migrating from Ranorex 4.1 to 5.1.

Post by krstcs » Mon Dec 22, 2014 5:55 pm

Just install over-the-top, make the changes you need to make, and commit back to your version control system.

Nothing special.

There are a few things in 5 that break things in 4, but they are in the release notes, which I would suggest you read before you upgrade. http://www.ranorex.com/free-trial/release-notes.html

Also, if you are going to upgrade, upgrade to the newest version, not an older one. 5.2.1 is newest release and it fixes some issues with 5.1. If you are making the effort to update, don't waste it with an older, out-dated version.
Shortcuts usually aren't...

kshekharkumar
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Feb 06, 2014 10:57 am

Re: Migrating from Ranorex 4.1 to 5.1.

Post by kshekharkumar » Wed Dec 24, 2014 11:00 am

Thanks. I could migrate to 5.1.

I wish I could upgrade to latest but it is not my choice.

Thanks anyways,
Shekhar