Migrating Recorded Modules across Ranorex Solutions

Ask general questions here.
stevelink
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 6:15 am
Location: Texas
Contact:

Migrating Recorded Modules across Ranorex Solutions

Post by stevelink » Fri Jun 06, 2014 4:11 pm

Greetings.
As a Ranorex "newbie", I would like to know how to migrate (copy) a recorded Module from one Ranorex Solution (on a local PC) to another Solution (on a Virtual Machine). in other words, we have a working "Login" script on our local machine, and want to run this same script on a VM, without needing to re-record the same exact functionality. Thank you.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11710
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Migrating Recorded Modules across Ranorex Solutions

Post by Support Team » Tue Jun 10, 2014 3:56 pm

Hi Steve,

In order to copy a file to a Ranorex Solution you can use the context menu in the project view.
In this context menu select "Add Existing Item.."
AddExistingFile.jpg
AddExistingFile.jpg (36 KiB) Viewed 655 times
Select the desired module and confirm the dialog.
In the next dialog select "Copy repository to project"
CopyRepository.jpg
CopyRepository.jpg (47.34 KiB) Viewed 655 times
The module and the corresponding repository were copied to the new solution.

The only prerequisite is that you can access the file.

Regards,
Markus (S)
.
Image

stevelink
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 6:15 am
Location: Texas
Contact:

Re: Migrating Recorded Modules across Ranorex Solutions

Post by stevelink » Thu Jun 12, 2014 4:07 pm

Marcus,
Thank you for your detailed reply. Would this also apply across physical/virtual machines? (In other words, I wanted to copy a working recorded module from my local machine to a virtual machine.)

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11710
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Migrating Recorded Modules across Ranorex Solutions

Post by Support Team » Fri Jun 13, 2014 9:28 am

Hi Steve,

Yes, of course. As my colleague mentioned, you just need access to the file. In your case you would need a shared folder or a server which can be accessed from both your local machine as well as the virtual machine in order to exchange the file.

Regards,
Robert
.
Image