Misleading behavior of object activation while running test

Ranorex Spy, Recorder, and Studio.
mcravi
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2015 9:04 am

Misleading behavior of object activation while running test

Post by mcravi » Thu Feb 19, 2015 7:37 am

I am using Ranorex 5.2.2 evaluation copy

I have recorded my scenario, inserted variables and bind with data source. I was able to run a test for all the values in a data source without any issues.
After 2 days, the same script when I try to run, objects are not activated as specified in the data source. The message indicating “outside the visible desktop area” is display and started clicking in a different location/object.

Observed further testing with Data driven is started misleading. Currently the recordings previously made are not usable now.
Please provide me at the earliest solution to overcome this issue.

Since I am new to the Ranorex tool and worked only with recording module, please provide me your answer as elaborated as possible.
Note:
1.The message “Invalid location string format” is also noticed.
2.No change in the SUT made.

Thanks in advance

Thanks & Regards
Ravi.C

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Misleading behavior of object activation while running test

Post by Support Team » Fri Feb 20, 2015 9:39 am

Hello Ravi,

Welcome to Ranorex.

As stated within the error message, it seems like the element which should be clicked is not reachable. Please check the X and Y coordinate of the tracked element. Are they located within the visible desktop?
One possible way to overcome your issue is mentioned here: http://www.ranorex.com/forum/not-able-t ... tml#p28396

As for the data source issue, please note that variable binding (e.g. to a data column) only takes place if the test automation is run from the test suite view. When running modules separately (e.g. "Play" in recorder), variable's default values are used. Further information regarding data-driven testing can be found within our User Guide

Please let us know, if you were able to resolve the issue.

Regards,
Robert
.
Image

mcravi
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2015 9:04 am

Re: Misleading behavior of object activation while running test

Post by mcravi » Fri Mar 06, 2015 9:56 am

Hi Robert,

Yes, the object is within a visible area, I have tried the option EnsureVisible set to True. But the issue is not solved.

The message “Invalid location string format” displays and the object is not invoked. Due to this issue we are unable to run automation test cases. It would be great help if you provide a quick and reliable solution for this issue.

Thanks in advance

Thanks & Regards
Ravi.C

Benwa
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2015 4:33 pm
Location: New Brunswick, Canada

Re: Misleading behavior of object activation while running test

Post by Benwa » Fri Mar 06, 2015 5:16 pm

Hi Ravi,

Have you tried running the View Spy on your object again to see if the XPath has changed?

Sounds like your SUT might have generated code which would be one reason why your object cannot be found anymore.

Hope this helps!

Cheers,
Ben