Missing root elements <testsuites> in Rx7 Junit report

Bug reports.
jjiang1
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2016 1:03 am

Missing root elements <testsuites> in Rx7 Junit report

Post by jjiang1 » Wed May 24, 2017 11:21 pm

Hello,
I noticed that after upgrade to Ranorax 7 and using your build-in jUnit report function, it missed the root elements <testsuites> on top of the report. I google the standard jUnit report structure, it shows below
<testsuites> => the aggregated result of all junit testfiles
<testsuite> => the output from a single TestSuite
<properties> => the defined properties at test execution
<property> => name/value pair for a single property
...
</properties>
<error></error> => optional information, in place of a test case - normally if the tests in the suite could not be found etc.
<testcase> => the results from executing a test method
<system-out> => data written to System.out during the test run
<system-err> => data written to System.err during the test run
<skipped/> => test was skipped
<failure> => test failed
<error> => test encountered an error
</testcase>
...
</testsuite>
...
</testsuites>


Does Ranorex still support the standard jUnit report format?

Thanks

mw-tw
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2017 11:29 am

Re: Missing root elements <testsuites> in Rx7 Junit report

Post by mw-tw » Wed May 31, 2017 1:07 pm

any news regarding this topic?

I cant't use the jenkins junit format with ranorex too... :(

CarpeDiem
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed May 31, 2017 1:48 pm

Re: Missing root elements <testsuites> in Rx7 Junit report

Post by CarpeDiem » Thu Jun 01, 2017 8:58 am

I'm having the same problem.
The jUnit repot cannot be parsed from bamboo due to an invalid format.

Any information about a bugfix or workaround?

qwertzu
Posts: 180
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2017 11:08 am

Re: Missing root elements <testsuites> in Rx7 Junit report

Post by qwertzu » Thu Jun 01, 2017 2:31 pm

Hello mw-tw,

I tried using the Jenkins JUnit Report function and everything works well. Yes, it´s true, that there is no <testsuites> element in the xml file, but this makes sense to me since within Ranorex, there will always be only one testsuite.

regards,

qwertzu

krstcs
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 2683
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 4:14 pm
Location: Austin, Texas, USA

Re: Missing root elements <testsuites> in Rx7 Junit report

Post by krstcs » Thu Jun 01, 2017 3:13 pm

As qwertzu says, I believe this is by design. There is only ONE test suite run at a time by Ranorex, so it is not possible to have a <testsuites> section.
Shortcuts usually aren't...

jjiang1
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2016 1:03 am

Re: Missing root elements <testsuites> in Rx7 Junit report

Post by jjiang1 » Tue Jun 06, 2017 7:09 pm

I think even there is just one test case, it should still follow the jUnit report standard format. Isn't it?

qwertzu
Posts: 180
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2017 11:08 am

Re: Missing root elements <testsuites> in Rx7 Junit report

Post by qwertzu » Wed Jun 07, 2017 1:00 pm

Hello JJiang1,

There seems to be no possible reason, why there should be a <testsuites> section when working with Ranorex.
But still, if you like, you can always add a feature request to Ranorex Uservoice Plattform.

regards,
qwertzu