Module group ... could not be found

Bug reports.
BCTest
Posts: 88
Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2014 10:15 am
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Module group ... could not be found

Post by BCTest » Fri Mar 18, 2016 3:57 pm

Hi,

I found several posts regarding this behaviour but none of them seems to fit to our behaviour.
We use Ranorex for years (version 5.4.5 at the moment) and develop our tests on a system with Ranorex-Studio and execute it on a system with Ranorex-Runner. Today I moved a single recording in one test in a new module group where I added a second recording. This test ran today on the Runner-System without any problems. After adding the module group -the first one in this test- I got a failure while executing the test:

Code: Select all

[2016/03/18 15:41:50.698][Error  ][Module]: The module group 'DatenbankSichernMitPause' (with ID {de26b912-74e0-4683-98c5-59fd684810a5}) could not be found.
We used a script for executing each test: first we rebuild the Ranorex-solution, copy these compiled files to the Ranorex-Runner, resync the solution-files and start the test. Nothing else was changed so what went wrong?

Regards,
Thomas.

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3922
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Module group ... could not be found

Post by odklizec » Fri Mar 18, 2016 5:21 pm

Hi Thomas,

My best guess is that you forgot to update also rxtmg file? Check this article about what files must be copied to the destination folder...
http://www.ranorex.com/support/user-gui ... yment.html
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

BCTest
Posts: 88
Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2014 10:15 am
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Re: Module group ... could not be found

Post by BCTest » Mon Mar 21, 2016 4:06 pm

odklizec wrote:My best guess is that you forgot to update also rxtmg file?
Hi Pavel,

your guess hit the mark: I forgot to update the rxtmg-files.

+1!

Thanks a lot,
Thomas