Module variables gets unbinded

Ask general questions here.
sivakumaran
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Dec 18, 2015 8:07 am

Module variables gets unbinded

Post by sivakumaran » Tue Feb 16, 2016 9:53 am

Hello Ranorex group,

there is a global parameter called ui language.
This ui language I configure it English US or German, So I want to run my test suite for multiple languages.
this parameter I want to pass it down to my tests.

so I bind this global parameter to the module variable for each of my recording module
and use this module variable inside the test.
sometimes this module variable is getting unbinded from the global parameter.

Did someone had a similar experience?
Can some body help me out to resolve this issue?

regards, Siva

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3930
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Module variables gets unbinded

Post by odklizec » Wed Feb 17, 2016 9:03 am

Hi Siva,

I believe you already posted about problem like this in the past? As I mentioned in my answer to your previous post, it's definitely not normal behavior. Unfortunately, there is not enough information about your solution (its structure), Ranorex version, etc. So there is not much we can do for you.

Please answer the requested details from previous post and eventually, post the problematic solution. If you can't/don' t want to post it publicly, send it to [email protected] along with detailed description of your problem.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

Fergal
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
Posts: 298
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2014 2:14 pm
Location: Co Louth, Ireland
Contact:

Re: Module variables gets unbinded

Post by Fergal » Thu Feb 18, 2016 11:54 am

sivakumaran wrote:...Did someone had a similar experience?...
I have a small Ranorex solution with 4 TCs (each containing a number of modules). Three of those TCs contain variables that are bound to data in a simple data table. I ran the solution a few days ago and everything worked perfectly.

Yesterday, I opened the solution and was surprised to see that in all of the modules which contained variables, those variables were unbound. There wasn't one single variable which was bound and I had to bind the data again in every module .

I have no idea why the data bindings were suddenly lost, as I made no deliberate changes to the test suite, since the previous time the tests ran successfully. This wasn't a problem as it occurred in a small solution, however it would be inconvenient if it happened in a large solution, with lots of bound variables.

The solution is on Tortoise SVN (the SVN log confirms that no one else worked on it at the time of the error). [Ranorex 5.4.4 on Windows 7]

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Module variables gets unbinded

Post by Support Team » Fri Feb 19, 2016 12:14 pm

Hello Fergal,

Unfortunately, we are not aware of any similar issues at the moment.
May I ask if the issue is reproducible with your Ranorex Solution?
If yes, it would be great if you could upload or send the compressed Ranorex Solution to [email protected].

Thank you in advance.

Sincerely,
Johannes
.
Image

Fergal
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
Posts: 298
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2014 2:14 pm
Location: Co Louth, Ireland
Contact:

Re: Module variables gets unbinded

Post by Fergal » Mon Feb 22, 2016 5:48 pm

Thanks Johannes.
Support Team wrote:...May I ask if the issue is reproducible with your Ranorex Solution?...
No, it hasn't happened since and I don't know of anything specific that caused it. It wasn't a significant issue and I only posted about it in response to Siva's question.

Thanks again!