Mouse-Click on item doesn't work anymore after Update 5.4.0

Bug reports.
BCTest
Posts: 88
Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2014 10:15 am
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Mouse-Click on item doesn't work anymore after Update 5.4.0

Post by BCTest » Thu Jul 09, 2015 12:56 pm

Hello,

I created a new test using Ranorex 5.3.2 and after the update on Ranorex 5.4.0 a simple mouse-click doesn't work anymore:
MouseClick.png
Target outside Desktop
MouseClick.png (70.11 KiB) Viewed 1350 times
Right before the mouse-click is a validation that the item to click on is visible. This test works right before the update for many times.

What is going wrong?

Regards.

krstcs
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 2683
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 4:14 pm
Location: Austin, Texas, USA

Re: Mouse-Click on item doesn't work anymore after Update 5.4.0

Post by krstcs » Thu Jul 09, 2015 1:31 pm

Without more information it is going to be hard to help.

Can you post a Ranorex snapshot of the element, or send it to [email protected]?

Also, please post or send the RanoreXPath that you are using.

What is the technology being tested?
Shortcuts usually aren't...

AFI
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2015 8:36 am
Location: Germany

Re: Mouse-Click on item doesn't work anymore after Update 5.4.0

Post by AFI » Thu Jul 09, 2015 1:59 pm

Did you connect two or more monitors?

BCTest
Posts: 88
Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2014 10:15 am
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Re: Mouse-Click on item doesn't work anymore after Update 5.4.0

Post by BCTest » Thu Jul 09, 2015 2:02 pm

Hello,
krstcs wrote:Without more information it is going to be hard to help.

Can you post a Ranorex snapshot of the element, or send it to [email protected]?

Also, please post or send the RanoreXPath that you are using.

What is the technology being tested?
The application is WPF-based and made with .NET 4.0.
I'll sent the snapshot to support.

AFI wrote:Did you connect two or more monitors?
Yes, two monitors.

Regards.

AFI
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2015 8:36 am
Location: Germany

Re: Mouse-Click on item doesn't work anymore after Update 5.4.0

Post by AFI » Thu Jul 09, 2015 3:01 pm

I had a similar problem. Have the error only when you start the test from the Ranorex Studio or even if you start the exe?

BCTest
Posts: 88
Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2014 10:15 am
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Re: Mouse-Click on item doesn't work anymore after Update 5.4.0

Post by BCTest » Thu Jul 09, 2015 3:23 pm

AFI wrote:I had a similar problem. Have the error only when you start the test from the Ranorex Studio or even if you start the exe?
Yes, the behavior is identical, regardless if I start from Studio or command line.

BCTest
Posts: 88
Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2014 10:15 am
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Re: Mouse-Click on item doesn't work anymore after Update 5.4.0

Post by BCTest » Thu Jul 09, 2015 3:39 pm

Hi.

Just a little observation:
- There are two click-events on similar elements - one works fine, the other fails
- The click-destinations both have variables in the RXPath: (.//text[@caption=$Artikelgruppe] and .//text[@caption=$Bezeichnung1]). Ranorex clicks the first item without problem, the value for the variable is "Filter". Ranorex fails to click the second item, the value for this variable is "Ölfilter". When I replace the variable with the static text "Ölfilter" Ranorex can click the item. Maybe the German vowel confuses Ranorex?

Regards.

AFI
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2015 8:36 am
Location: Germany

Re: Mouse-Click on item doesn't work anymore after Update 5.4.0

Post by AFI » Fri Jul 10, 2015 6:55 am

Quick and Dirty:
Remove Ö and search like this .//text[@caption~$StringWithoutÖ] :wink:

Seriously, can you post a Ranorex snapshot of the element?

BCTest
Posts: 88
Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2014 10:15 am
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Re: Mouse-Click on item doesn't work anymore after Update 5.4.0

Post by BCTest » Fri Jul 10, 2015 8:13 am

AFI wrote:Quick and Dirty:
Remove Ö and search like this .//text[@caption~$StringWithoutÖ] :wink:

Seriously, can you post a Ranorex snapshot of the element?
Hello AFI,

I send Ranorex the snapshot yesterday and I don't want to change the value of the variable - its name is without any special character. :wink:
And finally it worked in version 5.3.2.

But I don't think the special character is the problem.
BCTest wrote:When I replace the variable with the static text "Ölfilter" Ranorex can click the item. Maybe the German vowel confuses Ranorex?
No, it is not the German vowel that confuses Ranorex. The mouse-click works fine when the variable is unbound and the mouse-click fails when the variable is bound - both tests were made using the value "Ölfilter".
Hope this helps more.

Regards.

BCTest
Posts: 88
Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2014 10:15 am
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Re: Mouse-Click on item doesn't work anymore after Update 5.4.0

Post by BCTest » Fri Jul 10, 2015 12:43 pm

Hello,

found it in ReleaseNotes:
Known issues
If a test case uses a data column and a parameter with the same name is defined in it or one of its parent test cases, the value of the parameter is used instead of the data column value
After changing the name of the bound variable the test performs like in version 5.3.2.
So it is a known issue but confusing because Ranorex first was able to validate this item (screenshot at the beginning: visible is true) but could not click it.

Regards.