Mouse click operations are not working

Technology specific object identification, supported applications, web technologies, and 3rd party controls.
tharward
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2013 4:17 am

Re: Mouse click operations are not working

Post by tharward » Thu Nov 21, 2013 6:19 pm

Hi Phani,

The problem that I was saying is resolved is the playback of my scripts when connected via VPN. I followed your instructions as well as Markus' to increase the Duration and Mouse Movement settings and I also changed the Location to Center for all of the clicks as you suggested. I asked Martin if it is possible to have the Location recorded as Center by default while I was on the phone with him and he showed me the Coordinate recording mode setting on the Recorder Defaults tab in Global Settings. Setting that to None automatically sets the Location to Center.

Now that I have the script playback issue taken care of, I went back to recording new scripts and am finding that I still have the Mouse Down problem.

I have done some testing using the Add Entry portion of Lesson 1 in the User Guide and I have found that the only way I can get Ranorex to record Mouse Clicks every time is to turn on the "Use asynchronous dispatching of mouse and keyboard events" option on the Advanced tab in Global Settings. The problem is that enabling this option causes the mouse to jump and wobble in a remote session, making it very hard to record scripts.

I have experimented with the LowLevelHooksTimeout (7000) and I see no difference whether I am running locally or in a remote session. I always end up with 11 Mouse Down events and 9 Mouse Click Events. I also had 11 Mouse Down events when I recorded in a local session with the asynchronous switch turned off.

I really hope that we can figure out how to tweak the settings so that we are able to record Mouse Click events as opposed to Mouse Down events in a remote session because I connect to my Ranorex pc remotely even when I am in the office.

I will continue to play with the settings and will report back if I can find a combination of settings that work.

Thanks,

Troy

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Mouse click operations are not working

Post by Support Team » Fri Nov 22, 2013 4:31 pm

Hello Troy,

Thank you for your information.
Please 'play around' with the settings and let us know your outcome.

Regards,
Markus (T)
.
Image

phani.2905
Posts: 41
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2013 12:19 pm

Re: Mouse click operations are not working

Post by phani.2905 » Sat Nov 23, 2013 6:28 am

Support Team wrote:Hello Troy! Hello Phani!

@Troy
Thank you for your good feedback :-)

@Phani
Have you disabled "Turbo Mode" in your settings and increased Mouse move time in the 'Recorder Defaults'?
Please let me know if you experience any difference.

Regards,
Markus (T)
Hello Marcus,

Thanks for quick response. :)

We never turned on Turbo mode. Yes i had increased "Mouse move time" in recorder defaults. I tried with 1000ms, 2000ms and 5000ms. I experience no difference and still my "Mouse click" options are shown as "Mouse Down" . Please do the needful. Because every time i need to change events from "Mouse Down" to "Mouse click", as a result we have Low productivity.

For your reference i am listing all the suggestions that i followed given by support team.

1. Disabling /Enabling "Asynchronous dispatching of mouse and keyboard event".
2. Creating a Registry key "LowLevelHooksTimeout" and set timeout to 7000ms.
3. Disabling Turbo Mode. (We never used it)
4. Increased "Mouse Move time" to approximately 5000ms (Range from 500,1000,2000 and 5000ms).

Please let me know if i am missing any other tweak setting.

Thanks in advance,
A.R.Phanindranath.

tharward
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2013 4:17 am

Re: Mouse click operations are not working

Post by tharward » Tue Nov 26, 2013 12:52 am

I have had no luck playing with the LowLevelHooksTimeout setting or the Mouse Move setting or any combination of the two.

I have incrementally increased the LowLevelHooksTimeout up to as high as 30000 and the Mouse Move to as high as 10000 and have not seen any difference in the number of Mouse Down events that get recorded.

I am using your Keepass application and am simply recording adding and deleting an entry.

It is looking like I'm going to have to give up on Ranorex and move on to the next automated testing tool in my list if I can't get this resolved soon.

By the way, I would think that Turbo Mode would only apply during playback of a script, but I might be mistaken.

Please let me know if there are any other settings that might need to be modified.

Thanks,

Troy

tharward
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2013 4:17 am

Re: Mouse click operations are not working

Post by tharward » Tue Nov 26, 2013 6:51 pm

One additional note is that it does not matter whether I am connected remotely or logged directly in to the Ranorex pc. If I have asynchronous dispatching of mouse and keyboard events turned off, I get Mouse Down events in place of most of my Mouse Click events. If I turn asynchronous dispatching . . . on, I get all Mouse Click events.

I can't have asynchronous dispatching . . . turned on though because of the mouse problems (behavior) when connected remotely and connecting directly to the Ranorex pc all the time for scripting is not an option.

Please respond with suggestions because I am down to today and tomorrow to evaluate Ranorex before my trial expires.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Mouse click operations are not working

Post by Support Team » Wed Nov 27, 2013 4:23 pm

Hello Troy! Hello Phani!

Sorry for the late response.
I had a talk with our development team regarding this issue.

Our development team is analyzing this behavior, but unfortunately, we currently don't know why this issue happens. I am sorry that I can't tell you any suggestions concerning this matter.

Regards,
Markus (T)
.
Image

tharward
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2013 4:17 am

Re: Mouse click operations are not working

Post by tharward » Wed Nov 27, 2013 7:40 pm

Is it possible to do a Find and Replace All in the code module to replace all Mouse Down events with Mouse Click events all at once?

If so, could you please tell me the extension of the file that contains the code that can be modified?

Thanks,

Troy

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Mouse click operations are not working

Post by Support Team » Thu Nov 28, 2013 11:17 am

Hello Troy,

This would not work in <Recording>.cs files since they are generated after a new build.
You could find this information in <Recording>.rxrec (XML-based) file.

Unfortunately, you would need to use the 'Replace' function carefully and NOT 'Replace All'.
Please only replace this action for 'mouseitem' and not for other items (e.g. 'keyitem').
Please note that this is not recommended at all.

How to:
You would need to open this file using a right-click in Ranorex Studio (or any other XML editor) and select 'Open With... > XML editor'. Then, open 'Search and Replace' dialog with <CTRL>+<R> and replace "Down" with "Click" for 'mouseitem' only.

Another approach would be to use a XML parser to change this value directly.

Regards,
Markus (T)
.
Image

phani.2905
Posts: 41
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2013 12:19 pm

Re: Mouse click operations are not working

Post by phani.2905 » Thu Nov 28, 2013 6:38 pm

Hello Troy!!
Hello Marcus!!

@Troy,
Sorry dude. We tried our best to help you in solving your problem. But i suggest you to stay and look out for Ranorex support. Because i had worked on QTP and other tools and Ranorex has some very good features like organising suite etc..

@Marcus
Marc a small clarification needed. Troy is telling that he is getting all mouse click events as soon as he enabled Asynchronous dispatching mode. But it's not the story from my side. Even after Enabling Asynchronous dispatching mode, Out of 10, 6 are Mouse Down, 4 are mouse click. Occassionally i even see Mouse Up's..

Am i doing any thing wrong?? :?

Thanks in advance,
Phani

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Mouse click operations are not working

Post by Support Team » Fri Nov 29, 2013 11:34 am

Hello Troy,

You don't do anything wrong.

Unfortunately, working on remote systems especially over a connection with a high latency could cause this issue. As written in my previous post, our development team is currently analyzing this behavior.
In fact, you could only try out the best settings for you in order to minimize this issue.

I am sorry that I can't tell you any good news.
Thank you for your patience and understanding.

Regards,
Markus (T)
.
Image

phani.2905
Posts: 41
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2013 12:19 pm

Re: Mouse click operations are not working

Post by phani.2905 » Fri Nov 29, 2013 2:47 pm

Support Team wrote:Hello Troy,

You don't do anything wrong.

Unfortunately, working on remote systems especially over a connection with a high latency could cause this issue. As written in my previous post, our development team is currently analyzing this behavior.
In fact, you could only try out the best settings for you in order to minimize this issue.

I am sorry that I can't tell you any good news.
Thank you for your patience and understanding.

Regards,
Markus (T)
Hi Markus..
Is this post for me or Troy :?

Thanks,
Phani.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Mouse click operations are not working

Post by Support Team » Fri Nov 29, 2013 2:56 pm

Hello Phani,

Sorry! My previous post was for you :-)

Regards,
Markus (T)
.
Image

phani.2905
Posts: 41
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2013 12:19 pm

Re: Mouse click operations are not working

Post by phani.2905 » Tue Dec 03, 2013 9:41 am

Hi Markus,

If there is any update regarding Mouse down issue Please let me know at the earliest.

Thanks,
Phani

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Mouse click operations are not working

Post by Support Team » Thu Dec 05, 2013 5:16 pm

Hello Phani,

I have news regarding this issue from our development team.

We are working on a fix for our next major release version (5.0.0) that should convert all Mouse Up/Down into Clicks. Unfortunately, I could not tell you a fixed release date for it.

Please try to change the value for LowLevelHooksTimeout in the following registry key to 10000:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Policies\Microsoft\Windows\Control Panel\Desktop

Please let me know if you experience any difference.
Thanks in advance.

Regards,
Markus (T)
.
Image

phani.2905
Posts: 41
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2013 12:19 pm

Re: Mouse click operations are not working

Post by phani.2905 » Fri Dec 06, 2013 6:37 am

Hi Markus,

Thanks for the update. Waiting for 5.0.0 release.

Coming to the work around that you suggested me, Unfortunately i couldn't locate that Registry folder. It is not in my system.

Thanks,
Phani