Mouse Down is recorded but replay requires Mouse Click

Ranorex Spy, Recorder, and Studio.
torlin
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2009 2:05 pm

Mouse Down is recorded but replay requires Mouse Click

Post by torlin » Tue Feb 03, 2009 10:36 am

On an number of occasions I have stumbled over this problem:

A mouse click in MSIE on a webpage is recorded as Mouse Down, but replaying the script fails unless I manually change the action to Mouse Click.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Post by Support Team » Sat Feb 07, 2009 12:50 pm

This is a known issue. The problem is that the 'Up' portion of the click is sometimes not recorded if the system is under heavy load or the automated application is very complex, e.g. deeply nested websites

Michael
Ranorex Team

torlin
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2009 2:05 pm

Post by torlin » Mon Feb 09, 2009 8:30 am

Thank you. This is a "deeply nested website"!

I wish you good luck in finding a solution to this.

jo
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2009 3:21 pm

Post by jo » Fri Feb 20, 2009 3:30 pm

I'm having the same issue with a very complex application. Mouse Down is recorded instead of Mouse Click. And the system is under heavy load during the recording as well.

Another small thing, slightly offtopic, I saved a recording under "base-ticket01.rxrec". In the title-bar of Ranorex Recorder the filename is listed as "baseMinusticket01".

Right now I'm evaluating this great application and I'm looking forward to purchasing the Premium edition - it's going have a great impact on my current project!

Kind regards,
Jo
Ranorex Studio 2.0.0.5474 (Trial downloaded&installed 20.02.2009)
HP Compaq nx8220, XP Pro SP3, Pentium M 2GHz, 2GB Ram

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Post by Support Team » Mon Feb 23, 2009 5:07 pm

jo,

:idea: You can try to set
HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Control Panel\Desktop\LowLevelHooksTimeout
to a value greater than 2500 (ms). The system might get less reponsive during recording, though.

The titlebar "problem" is fixed in the upcoming V2.0.1 release.

Michael
Ranorex Team

User avatar
Florent
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2012 3:31 pm
Location: Amiens / France

Re: Mouse Down is recorded but replay requires Mouse Click

Post by Florent » Fri Dec 21, 2012 12:50 pm

OS : Windows 2012
Ranorex version : 4.01

Hi Ranorex Support team,

I encounter this problem since i moved to the version 4.

I've already try this two solutions without success :
- disable "Use asynchronous dispatching of mouse and keyboard events"
- create the key (because it did not exist) HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Control Panel\Desktop\LowLevelHooksTimeout and set it to 10000

With last Ranorex versions, this problem was solved by disabling ""Use asynchronous...".

Is there something more to do with version 4 ?

Thank you for your help

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Mouse Down is recorded but replay requires Mouse Click

Post by Support Team » Fri Dec 21, 2012 4:55 pm

Hi,

This normally shouldn't occur anymore!
What kind of application are you testing, a web app?
Can you for test purposes install the new 4.0.1?
Please install it with the setup.exe file.
Can you still see the issue with the new version?

Regards,
Markus
.
Image

User avatar
Florent
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2012 3:31 pm
Location: Amiens / France

Re: Mouse Down is recorded but replay requires Mouse Click

Post by Florent » Thu Jan 10, 2013 12:37 pm

Hi Support Team,

I'm using 4.0.1 version and i've still the problem.
I'm testing a foxpro application.
Sometimes a "Click" is recorded, sometimes it's a "Down". It's not regular. So i have to review each recording to correct wrong mouse actions recorded. It's quite heavy.

Have you got an idea ?

User avatar
Florent
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2012 3:31 pm
Location: Amiens / France

Re: Mouse Down is recorded but replay requires Mouse Click

Post by Florent » Thu Jan 10, 2013 5:11 pm

i've enabled "Use asynchronous dispatching of mouse and keyboard events", create the key (because it did not exist) HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Control Panel\Desktop\LowLevelHooksTimeout and set it to 7000

it seems to work well now

i hope it will be always the case

thank u

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Mouse Down is recorded but replay requires Mouse Click

Post by Support Team » Thu Jan 10, 2013 6:08 pm

Hello,

You are welcome :-)
Thank you for your info.

Just for info: this problem can be caused by disabling the setting "Use asynchronous dispatching of mouse and keyboard events". If you then record a mouse click and the value for the "LowLevelHooksTimeout" registry setting is smaller than the time to identify the clicked element, then only a mouse down will be recorded.
That's why by default the "asynchronous dispatching" setting is turned on :D

Regards,
Markus (T)
.
Image