Mouse wobbling while using ranorex on RDP

Ranorex Spy, Recorder, and Studio.
ranoman
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2010 6:59 pm

Mouse wobbling while using ranorex on RDP

Post by ranoman » Mon Aug 09, 2010 6:35 pm

I am having severe trouble using Ranorex over an RDP session. Here is the problem precisely:

I am working in Ranorex studio. I open up Element browser and hit "Track" to switch to my application to identify the objects. The mouse pointer starts wobbling very badly moving forward. Even after I am done identifying the objects. I have to restart ranorex in order for it to work normally. Again after I user element browser it is the same problem and I have to restart. Note that this problem happens only over RDP. Everything is working normally when I am on the physical machine.

And it is not just the problem with my computer or network. Even my team that uses Ranorex over remote desktop has the same problem.

I do most my work remotely over RDP and is proving to be a deterrant. Kindly help.

ranoman
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2010 6:59 pm

Re: Mouse wobbling while using ranorex on RDP

Post by ranoman » Tue Aug 10, 2010 4:52 pm

I was wondering if you'll have a possible fix or resolution to this. This is severely blocking my development.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Mouse wobbling while using ranorex on RDP

Post by Support Team » Tue Aug 10, 2010 5:49 pm

We are not really sure what could cause that issue.
  • On which operating systems (XP, Vista, 7) do you experience that behavior?
  • Do you have any anti-virus software installed on the host or remote machine?
  • How is the CPU load when you experience that wobbling behavior (both on host and remote machine)?
What you can try is disabling the "Use asynchronous dispatching of mouse and keyboard events" option in the configuration's general tab page:
http://www.ranorex.com/support/user-gui ... ation.html

Another workaround may be not using the RanorexStudio internal element browser, but the stand-alone Ranorex Spy application. That way, you can easily close/restart Spy without having to close Ranorex Studio.

Regards,
Alex
Ranorex Team
.
Image

ranoman
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2010 6:59 pm

Re: Mouse wobbling while using ranorex on RDP

Post by ranoman » Tue Aug 10, 2010 10:46 pm

Thanks Alex! unchecking "Use asynchronous dispatching of mouse and keyboard events" did the trick for me.

Madhavan
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 7:02 am

Re: Mouse wobbling while using ranorex on RDP

Post by Madhavan » Thu Sep 09, 2010 9:10 am

WHoa! was stuck with this problem for a while. Thanks for this valuable information. I have to do much of the automation is a RDC and was having the same problem. A suggestion will be to move this to the FAQ section.

Thank You,
Madhavan

vadhrnt
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2010 9:23 am

Re: Mouse wobbling while using ranorex on RDP

Post by vadhrnt » Tue Dec 07, 2010 9:37 am

Hi.

I'm trying Ranorex and I've had a similar problem working with Ranorex on VM (The company I'm working in uses VMs as working environments). Unchecking this asynchronous dispatching checkbox solved the problem, but I've spent almost half a day to find how the solution.

So, maybe this question (and answer) should be in the FAQ? :)

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Mouse wobbling while using ranorex on RDP

Post by Support Team » Tue Dec 07, 2010 1:08 pm

Hi,

Sorry for the delay to find this setting. I will move it to the "How To" section in our forum. Maybe then the user finds it faster.

Regards,
Peter
Ranorex Team
.
Image

mrusso
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2011 12:54 am

Re: Mouse wobbling while using ranorex on RDP

Post by mrusso » Fri Feb 18, 2011 7:36 pm

Thanks for this question. I ran into this problem as well and was wondering how to fix it.

This happened to me when trying to use Remote Desktop to remote into a machine that is running Win 7 with Ranorex installed. The problem occurs with both Ranorex Studio and Ranorex Spy.

When I try remoting into an XP machine with Ranorex installed, I don't have this problem.

I just thought I'd provide some more info about possible ways to reproduce the problem. I'm not yet able to try the the "Use asynchronous dispatching of mouse and keyboard events" trick, because I'm working directly on the Win 7 machine with this problem.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Mouse wobbling while using ranorex on RDP

Post by Support Team » Mon Feb 21, 2011 8:19 pm

mrusso wrote:This happened to me when trying to use Remote Desktop to remote into a machine that is running Win 7 with Ranorex installed.
Unfortunately, we have not been able to reproduce this issue, yet. :?
mrusso wrote:I'm not yet able to try the the "Use asynchronous dispatching of mouse and keyboard events" trick, because I'm working directly on the Win 7 machine with this problem
Sorry, I don't really understand. Why can't you disable that setting on that machine? What happens if you disable the asynchronous dispatching?

Regards,
Alex
Ranorex Team
.
Image

mrusso
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2011 12:54 am

Re: Mouse wobbling while using ranorex on RDP

Post by mrusso » Mon Mar 21, 2011 7:27 pm

Sorry, I forgot that I posted here and never checked for a response.

I simply meant that I couldn't verify the fix of unchecking asynchronous dispatching at the time.

I later tried that fix and it worked successfully.

nehas
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 1:55 pm

Re: Mouse wobbling while using ranorex on RDP

Post by nehas » Thu Feb 23, 2012 1:19 pm

Hi - I 'm trying to execute a simple Google search script on a remote machine doing RDP to that. The same scripts is working fine on my machine but on remote machine when I tried to click on "Google Search " button its do not work and not even get redirected to search result page.

Please help me to find solution.


Thanks
Neha.

User avatar
Ciege
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 1335
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 6:46 pm
Location: Arizona, USA

Re: Mouse wobbling while using ranorex on RDP

Post by Ciege » Thu Feb 23, 2012 3:39 pm

nehas wrote:Hi - I 'm trying to execute a simple Google search script on a remote machine doing RDP to that. The same scripts is working fine on my machine but on remote machine when I tried to click on "Google Search " button its do not work and not even get redirected to search result page.
Is Ranorex installed on the remote machine or on your local machine? If it is installed on your local machine then you are trying to automate through RDP it will not work as expected. This is because RDP simply displays the remote desktop as one big picture. Ranorex, or any automation utility, will not see the objects of the AUT, and therefore be unable to interact with them directly.
If this or any response has helped you, please reply to the thread stating that it worked so other people with a similar issue will know how you fixed your issue!

Ciege...

nehas
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 1:55 pm

Re: Mouse wobbling while using ranorex on RDP

Post by nehas » Thu Mar 01, 2012 6:57 am

[quote="nehas"
Ciege wrote:
nehas wrote:Hi - I 'm trying to execute a simple Google search script on a remote machine doing RDP to that. The same scripts is working fine on my machine but on remote machine when I tried to click on "Google Search " button its do not work and not even get redirected to search result page.
Is Ranorex installed on the remote machine or on your local machine? If it is installed on your local machine then you are trying to automate through RDP it will not work as expected. This is because RDP simply displays the remote desktop as one big picture. Ranorex, or any automation utility, will not see the objects of the AUT, and therefore be unable to interact with them directly.


Hi - Ranorex is installed on the remote machine which is an AWS instance. I'm trying to record a simple google search script on this instance and when I replay it the "Google search" button does not work. Though it seems it clicked on "Google search" button but the page is not redirected to the search results page.[/quote]

Pixi6s
Posts: 92
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2011 8:57 pm

Re: Mouse wobbling while using ranorex on RDP

Post by Pixi6s » Mon Mar 05, 2012 4:33 pm

I find running Ranorex through RDP doesn't work well. I use logmein (logmein.com) and it works wonderfully. :)