Mozilla Firefox addon error - Ranorex 7.2.0

Bug reports.
wellingtonsantana
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Jan 23, 2016 12:50 am
Contact:

Mozilla Firefox addon error - Ranorex 7.2.0

Post by wellingtonsantana » Fri Sep 22, 2017 12:50 pm

Hello,
With new Ranorex version, my Ranorex Mozilla Firefox addon is not working.

Firefox version: 55.0.3 (64-bit)
Ranorex version: 7.2.0
Addon version: 1.0.33
Attachments
firefox-error.jpg
Firefox Error
firefox-error.jpg (143.92 KiB) Viewed 1370 times

ahoisl
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
Posts: 125
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2007 8:16 am

Re: Mozilla Firefox addon error - Ranorex 7.2.0

Post by ahoisl » Fri Sep 22, 2017 1:40 pm

When do you see this error page? Just when you click on the extension icon in the browser toolbar?
Have you tried if the object recognition works?

Cause I can reproduce this error popup when clicking on the logo, but automation just works fine.

Regards,
Alex
Ranorex Team

wellingtonsantana
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Jan 23, 2016 12:50 am
Contact:

Re: Mozilla Firefox addon error - Ranorex 7.2.0

Post by wellingtonsantana » Fri Sep 22, 2017 2:22 pm

As you said, just when I click on the extension icon.
The object recognition Works, but it's spending a considerable long time to perform any action.

Regards,

LQuartier
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jul 14, 2017 8:08 am

Re: Mozilla Firefox addon error - Ranorex 7.2.0

Post by LQuartier » Mon Sep 25, 2017 9:33 am

I have a rather large Automation Project in Firefox, that's usually running about 7-8 hours. The first time running with the new 7.2, the Runtime has increased dramatically to 18 hours, the times in Chrome are unaffected.

ahoisl
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
Posts: 125
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2007 8:16 am

Re: Mozilla Firefox addon error - Ranorex 7.2.0

Post by ahoisl » Mon Sep 25, 2017 2:13 pm

wellingtonsantana wrote:As you said, just when I click on the extension icon.
I already forwarded this problem to our development team who will take care of it. It should not have an effect on the object recognition, though.
wellingtonsantana wrote:The object recognition Works, but it's spending a considerable long time to perform any action.
We are aware of performance issues with the Firefox extension for some websites when compared to Chrome, especially if those sites contain multiple iframes.
Could you provide us the site you are automating so we can try to reproduce the performance issues?
Would you rate the performance different than with pre-7.2.0 Ranorex releases?
LQuartier wrote:I have a rather large Automation Project in Firefox, that's usually running about 7-8 hours. The first time running with the new 7.2, the Runtime has increased dramatically to 18 hours, the times in Chrome are unaffected.
Can you also provide us the website you are testing? Then we are able to better analyze this issue.

Regards,
Alex
Ranorex Team

wellingtonsantana
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Jan 23, 2016 12:50 am
Contact:

Re: Mozilla Firefox addon error - Ranorex 7.2.0

Post by wellingtonsantana » Tue Sep 26, 2017 12:54 pm


simon
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Sep 26, 2017 4:42 pm

Re: Mozilla Firefox addon error - Ranorex 7.2.0

Post by simon » Tue Sep 26, 2017 5:15 pm

Same problem with object recognition with the plugin FIREFOX (Ranorex Automation 1.0.33 - 18/9/17)
It s spending a long time to perfom any actions (3x)and errors in the Brower Console.

Firefox version: 54.0.1
Ranorex version: 7.2.0+git.ffdcf8e6
Addon version: 1.0.33

ahoisl
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
Posts: 125
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2007 8:16 am

Re: Mozilla Firefox addon error - Ranorex 7.2.0

Post by ahoisl » Tue Sep 26, 2017 10:13 pm

wellingtonsantana wrote:Here "https://www.nhl.com/".
Thank you! I'll forward this to our dev team.
simon wrote:It s spending a long time to perfom any actions (3x)and errors in the Brower Console.
simon, could you also provide us with the website you are testing? Thank you!

Regards,
Alex
Ranorex Team

simon
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Sep 26, 2017 4:42 pm

Re: Mozilla Firefox addon error - Ranorex 7.2.0

Post by simon » Wed Sep 27, 2017 8:52 am

Alex,
Our website isn't on the public network.
in my previous post, I just wanted to confirm the firefox plugin problem with 7.2. I guess it s a general problem (last night,for one testcase : 35min instead of 5min...)
So, we roll back to the 7.1, waiting the new firefox plugin.

Thank you for your help

simon
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Sep 26, 2017 4:42 pm

Re: Mozilla Firefox addon error - Ranorex 7.2.0

Post by simon » Wed Sep 27, 2017 9:05 am

Browser console.PNG
Browser console.PNG (141.25 KiB) Viewed 1216 times

ahoisl
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
Posts: 125
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2007 8:16 am

Re: Mozilla Firefox addon error - Ranorex 7.2.0

Post by ahoisl » Fri Sep 29, 2017 1:25 pm

We have done some investigation on this performance issues and could reproduce a degradation, but the factor of degradation seems to be different for different web sites and use cases.

To be able to investigate the problem in depth, it would be great if you could provide us sample solutions that you can reproduce the performance problem with, so we can also investigate your use case. Thank you!

As a side note: Firefox changed the underlying system for its extensions and will require to use the new extension system soon, that's why we had to re-write the Ranorex extension that provides support for Firefox. The new Firefox extension system is still quite new, so part of the performance problems could also be caused by that new system. I would recommend everyone experiencing issues to either stay with 7.1.2 for now or update to the newest Firefox version to get all Firefox bug fixes currently available.

Regards,
Alex
Ranorex Team

simon
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Sep 26, 2017 4:42 pm

Re: Mozilla Firefox addon error - Ranorex 7.2.0

Post by simon » Tue Oct 03, 2017 11:07 pm

Alex, thank you for this information.
For the time being, we roll back to the 7.1.2 and it works well as before (before 7.2.0)
All ours projects with firefox are affected by this problem (about 10 people) even with the new firefox version.

Actually we are waiting the new ranorex version.Hoping that this corrects the problem. Else we will send you extract of solutions...
But if anyone finds the solution i continue to be interested...

ahoisl
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
Posts: 125
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2007 8:16 am

Re: Mozilla Firefox addon error - Ranorex 7.2.0

Post by ahoisl » Wed Oct 04, 2017 8:20 am

simon wrote:Actually we are waiting the new ranorex version.Hoping that this corrects the problem. Else we will send you extract of solutions...
As we could not reproduce the degradation you have, but only slight differences, I'm not very optimistic that your problem will be fixed without your cooperation :?
If you can find the time, please, compile a sample that we can reproduce the degradation with. If we have that, we can explicitly drill down in your use case and see what we can do there.

Thank you!

Regards,
Alex
Ranorex Team

User avatar
Aracknid
Posts: 342
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2010 3:23 pm
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Re: Mozilla Firefox addon error - Ranorex 7.2.0

Post by Aracknid » Tue Oct 24, 2017 2:09 pm

Hi,

I logged in a separate thread that I was having the same issues. See https://www.ranorex.com/forum/is-firefo ... 11471.html.

Unfortunately my application under test is not a public website. It's a private client/server app, and it has lots of iframes...

If I can help in any way, please let me know. If you have a beta version of something I can try it out and tell you if it's working for me.

Aracknid.

alianfal
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun May 03, 2009 5:34 pm

Re: Mozilla Firefox addon error - Ranorex 7.2.0

Post by alianfal » Wed Nov 29, 2017 9:20 pm

Hi I am using Firefox 57 version and Ranorex 7.2.0

I see the same issue, rather when i try to spy using Ranorex 7.2.0 on any website, it recognizing very few objects with right focus on it, but for some objects spy is higlighting object somewhere other than where the object is located.

None of upgraded projects works with firefox.

Please help us to resolve this issue.
Chrom and IE plugins works perfectly fine without any issues.

Let me know if you need more details.

Thanks
Ali