MSAA on Large Table

Ask general questions here.
atom
Posts: 357
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2008 11:14 pm
Location: Dublin, Ireland

MSAA on Large Table

Post by atom » Tue May 04, 2010 5:07 pm

Hiya

We recently added MSAA support to an in-house grid control
However when Ranorex Spies the grid to get the Table object it takes a very long time
The grid itself contains 5000 rows, and 10 columns
Is there perhaps something wrong with our MSAA implementation that makes it take so long?

BTW : Is there a way to tell ranorex, only obtain the Element, and not the Table?
(i.e. don't traverse all rows and columns, just get me the Element?)

Cheers

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: MSAA on Large Table

Post by Support Team » Wed May 05, 2010 11:38 am

Hi!
atom wrote:Is there perhaps something wrong with our MSAA implementation that makes it take so long?
I think there is nothing wrong with your MSAA implementation. It's a very "fat" table and Ranorex SPY needs time to get all rows of the table when you Spy a cell. As the MSAA interface is rather slow (COM inter-process communication involved), this might take a while. IMHO you can only accelerate this at runtime by code using a CacheSessionContext(), see following post:
http://www.ranorex.com/forum/performanc ... html#p4144
atom wrote:Is there a way to tell ranorex, only obtain the Element, and not the Table?
No sorry there is no such way. Ranorex needs hierarchical information about the element in order to create a RanoreXPath. What you can do is creating a snapshot of the whole table (e.g. using the <SCROLL> key) and then use tracking with that snapshot loaded (see the corresponding topic in the User Guide). Similar to using a CacheSessionContext, Ranorex will that way only get the data from the table once and then work on the cached data.

Regards,
Peter
Ranorex Support Team
.
Image