MSAA Table Rows

Class library usage, coding and language questions.
atom
Posts: 357
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2008 11:14 pm
Location: Dublin, Ireland

MSAA Table Rows

Post by atom » Tue Jul 27, 2010 7:28 pm

Hiya

I am working with an MSAA grid control, that is recognised as a Ranorex.Table

However for ranorex to enumerate all the child Row items of the table, can take up to 30 seconds, this is because the data behind the grid control is quite slow to query, and also MSAA itself is slow.

I am really only interested in the top N (normally N=1) rows of the table, and want to prevent ranorex
enumerating all the rows, is there a way to do that?

Thanks

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: MSAA Table Rows

Post by Support Team » Wed Jul 28, 2010 6:21 pm

atom wrote:I am really only interested in the top N (normally N=1) rows of the table, and want to prevent ranorex enumerating all the rows, is there a way to do that?
No, sorry, the low-level method to walk through the element structure (implemented by all the Ranorex technology plugins and therefore the base to all Ranorex search operations) is to retrieve all the children of an element at once. There is no such method as "give me Children i to j", since this is usually not possible for most technologies anyway.

For example, when you try to get the third row of a table by index, Ranorex will always retrieve all immediate child elements of the table and return these elements as the rows of the table. Ranorex won't try to retrieve the cells inside the rows, though.

You can, however, speed up subsequent searches inside the table using a CacheSessionContext - as long as the table does not change. See following form post for more info:
http://www.ranorex.com/forum/why-it-is- ... html#p4187

Regards,
Alex
Ranorex Team
.
Image

atom
Posts: 357
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2008 11:14 pm
Location: Dublin, Ireland

Re: MSAA Table Rows

Post by atom » Thu Jul 29, 2010 10:49 am

ok thanks