Newbie

Ask general questions here.
frank999
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2010 12:00 am

Newbie

Post by frank999 » Thu Oct 21, 2010 12:07 am

Ranorex looks cool. I have some basic questions;

1. In order to automate say a windows app, and get object recognition as described in the online demonstration, does Ranorex need me to have the source code of that application. I am testing an app for users that requires me to automate a 3rd party app alongside an app I am building.
2. Is the answer the same if the app I am trying to automate is silverlight or flash/flex. Can Ranorex really see all of the objects and their properties.
3. I assume automation of a virtual machine uses GDI or screen co-ordinates? i.e. if I want to read a text box that says Hello World but the text box is not wide enough to see "world", Ranorex won't see world either?
4. Does Ranerox automate any browser? and any Java or activeX app in that browser (or Silverlight).

Sorry for the dumb questions.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Newbie

Post by Support Team » Thu Oct 21, 2010 10:44 am

Hi,
frank999 wrote:1. In order to automate say a windows app, and get object recognition as described in the online demonstration, does Ranorex need me to have the source code of that application. I am testing an app for users that requires me to automate a 3rd party app alongside an app I am building.
You don't need the source code to automate your application.
frank999 wrote:2. Is the answer the same if the app I am trying to automate is silverlight or flash/flex. Can Ranorex really see all of the objects and their properties.
There shouldn't be a problem to automate this technologies with Ranorex. Ranorex is able to recognize all the controls, expect it is a Custom Control. But even that is possible because Ranorex is able to get even custom properties. For example from a custom flex class.
frank999 wrote:3. I assume automation of a virtual machine uses GDI or screen co-ordinates? i.e. if I want to read a text box that says Hello World but the text box is not wide enough to see "world", Ranorex won't see world either?
Of course Ranorex retrieves the whole text, because we access the text property and therefore it is immaterial how big the controls is.
frank999 wrote:4. Does Ranerox automate any browser? and any Java or activeX app in that browser (or Silverlight).

This is one of the big advantages of Ranorex, because we are using the DOM object to automate a browser application. Therefore you are able to use the same script for Internet Explorer and Firefox.

Regards,
Peter
Ranorex Team
.
Image