Newly dynamically added data row not executed

Ranorex Spy, Recorder, and Studio.
qwertz

Newly dynamically added data row not executed

Post by qwertz » Sun Sep 30, 2018 7:31 pm

Hi,

I'm new to Ranorex Automation and still learning how to implement things. I managed to add a column to my data source (SimpleDataConnector) in a code module and use the values in that column. I also managed to add a data row to my data source but that row is not used for the variable iteration:
I have a column called 'Browser' in which I have the variables for the browsers I want to run the test cases on. In that column I have 2 browsers (rows) initially and I add one in a code module during SETUP of the test case. But the test case still is only excuted for the first two browsers but not the third:
Testcase:
--SETUP:
--Init -> Third browser is added
-----------
OpenBrowserModule : -> only excuted with the first two browsers

How can I make the test case also be executed with the third browser?

Thanks in advance,
U
---
Ranorex Studio 8.2 on Windows 10
Last edited by qwertz on Thu Oct 04, 2018 10:08 am, edited 1 time in total.

odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru

Re: Newly dynamically added data row not exeuted

Post by odklizec » Mon Oct 01, 2018 7:39 am

Hi,

How exactly have you added the third row? By code? In this case, please post entire code you are using. Where exactly have you applied your code? It must be applied BEFORE the testcase/smartfolder, with given data connector.

BTW, is there a reason why you are adding another browser by code? Why don't you simply add all browsers before executing test? And if needed, limit the number of browsers used by test, by changing the data range. It's much more safe and error proof, than dynamically adding data to the data connector.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)