No element identification for Android 6 in Ranorex 9.2.0?

Ask general questions here.
uschumac
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Apr 13, 2017 1:15 pm

No element identification for Android 6 in Ranorex 9.2.0?

Post by uschumac » Tue Oct 29, 2019 7:33 am

Hi,

after switching from 9.1.1 to 9.2.0, element identfication is no longer possible for my Nexus 5 (Android 6.0.1). Are there any other users experiencing this issue? Are all Android 6 devices affected or is it just a problem in my configuration?

(I reinstalled 9.1.1 and it works like charm again.)


Thanks for your input!

uschumac

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 6188
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: No element identification for Android 6 in Ranorex 9.2.0?

Post by odklizec » Tue Oct 29, 2019 7:52 am

Hi,

Have you re-instrumented the app with 9.2?
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

uschumac
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Apr 13, 2017 1:15 pm

Re: No element identification for Android 6 in Ranorex 9.2.0?

Post by uschumac » Tue Oct 29, 2019 8:33 am

Yes, several times (using the wizard and command line).

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 6188
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: No element identification for Android 6 in Ranorex 9.2.0?

Post by odklizec » Tue Oct 29, 2019 8:38 am

Hi,

In this case, I think this is something that should be investigated by Ranorex folks. I would suggest to contact them via support form available here:
https://www.ranorex.com/support-query/
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

uschumac
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Apr 13, 2017 1:15 pm

Re: No element identification for Android 6 in Ranorex 9.2.0?

Post by uschumac » Tue Oct 29, 2019 10:46 am

Hi again,

as a matter of fact, I already did. They told me that it is not possible to support Android versions in Ranorex that are not even supported by Google anymore.
So I try to reach out to the Ranorex community to find out whether I am the only one having this problem or not.
Maybe there is even someone that uses an Android 6 device in Ranorex 9.2.0 successfully.


Regards

uschumac

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 6188
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: No element identification for Android 6 in Ranorex 9.2.0?

Post by odklizec » Tue Oct 29, 2019 10:57 am

I see. Well, then your only hope is most probably to use older Ranorex for Android 6 devices? What's interesting though is that this breaking change is not mentioned in 9.2 release notes? I think it should definitely be mentioned somewhere.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

cs97jjm3
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2019 4:30 pm

Re: No element identification for Android 6 in Ranorex 9.2.0?

Post by cs97jjm3 » Tue Oct 29, 2019 1:29 pm

Hiya i had same problem and have been working with our mobile developer: no joy. so at moment building business case for a new phone