No elemet Found Error although Element is present

Ask general questions here.
Todor
Posts: 66
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2011 11:28 am

Re: No elemet Found Error although Element is present

Post by Todor » Tue Oct 11, 2011 9:48 am

As it seems the DRIVER LOCKED memory expands from 500k to 1,4 GB. Could Ranorex have anything to do with it? I started to test with ranorex 3.1.1 at October the 4th. Since October the 4th this problem occurs.
Could it be that there is any Memory leak in Ranorex?

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: No elemet Found Error although Element is present

Post by Support Team » Tue Oct 11, 2011 10:11 am

Todor wrote:Could it be that there is any Memory leak in Ranorex?
Not a known one, please could you use following tool to check the memory usage
http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/sysi ... 00229.aspx
and please save us a dump before you start the automation and then when you run into the memory leak issue.

Thanks in advance.

Regards,
Peter
Ranorex Team
.
Image

Todor
Posts: 66
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2011 11:28 am

Re: No elemet Found Error although Element is present

Post by Todor » Tue Oct 11, 2011 11:06 am

We are just experiencing these RAM difficulties on this Server, and it's the only one with Ranorex installed. That doesn't mean that i am judging Ranorex for this ;). There could be ANY memory leak and it doesn't have to be ranorex at all.

To the lower picture: The screenshot was made before restarting the server.

To the upper picture: The screenshot was made after restarting the server.

I will attach 2 Ranorex Reports. One before restart and one after restart so you can see how the ram load is affecting ranorex's testing. The two reports are from the same program. I havent changed anything in the source code between these two reports.
Attachments
Reports.zip
(4.53 MiB) Downloaded 205 times
Screen2.png
Screen2.png (17.19 KiB) Viewed 788 times
Screen1.png
Screen1.png (16.14 KiB) Viewed 788 times

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: No elemet Found Error although Element is present

Post by Support Team » Tue Oct 11, 2011 11:39 am

Hi,

Thank you for the screenshots.

Driver Locked memory is strange, because Ranorex doesn't load any driver. Diver Locked means "A driver locked some memory so that other tool can use it."Maybe we have a possible handle leak. Therefore I would ask you to post us two screenshots of the Taskmanager where following fields are visible:
  • Threads
  • Handles
  • USER Object
  • GDI Objects
And please again two of them. One before and one after.

Another possible hunch would be to check the Graphic Card Driver. Maybe you need an update and therefore the memory gets locked.

Regards,
Peter
Ranorex Team
.
Image

Todor
Posts: 66
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2011 11:28 am

Re: No elemet Found Error although Element is present

Post by Todor » Tue Oct 11, 2011 11:59 am

I can give you the screenshots when we are done trying something. To exclude Ranorex from list of suspects we deinstalled Ranorex on the server and restarted it. If the ram load starts going up again, we know that ranorex has nothing to do with these problems. If it stays low we will do further testing and we will send you your demanded information.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: No elemet Found Error although Element is present

Post by Support Team » Tue Oct 11, 2011 12:04 pm

Hi,

That's great thank you. If we are not able to identify the issue by the screenshots we can setup a meeting if you want?

Regards,
Peter
Ranorex Team
.
Image

Todor
Posts: 66
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2011 11:28 am

Re: No elemet Found Error although Element is present

Post by Todor » Wed Oct 12, 2011 11:35 am

I have no problem with that, but we found out that this incident was not caused by ranorex (we deinstalled it and the probel still remains). If we find out what the problem is and it has somehow a connection to ranorex i will inform you. :) Sorry (again) for having bothered you.



Yours sincerly,

Konstantin Todor

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: No elemet Found Error although Element is present

Post by Support Team » Wed Oct 12, 2011 12:01 pm

Hi,
Todor wrote::) Sorry (again) for having bothered you.
No problem. Please could you post us what this issue caused?
Maybe it his helpful for the community.

Thanks.

Regards,
Peter
Ranorex Team
.
Image

Todor
Posts: 66
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2011 11:28 am

Re: No elemet Found Error although Element is present

Post by Todor » Wed Oct 12, 2011 12:54 pm

We haven't found the cause yet. We are monitoring the server's ram and processor load and i will inform you if there are any news in this case, or we have found any cause of this problem or solution for it. We are guessing an eventual relation with hyper-v.