No node-locked license for VMs anymore?

Ask general questions here.
merklh
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 6:55 pm

No node-locked license for VMs anymore?

Post by merklh » Mon May 16, 2016 6:19 pm

I am in the process of upgrading from Ranorex 4 to 6. We have an unlimited runtime license which we used with VMs before. Ranorex 6 now pops up a message that node locked licenses are not allowed in VMs but we should use a floating license. This won't work for us since many of the use cases we have ask for a device that's not connected to the network.

How do we handle this?

krstcs
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 2683
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 4:14 pm
Location: Austin, Texas, USA

Re: No node-locked license for VMs anymore?

Post by krstcs » Mon May 16, 2016 7:00 pm

You should send an email to [email protected] and/or [email protected].


Ranorex started enforcing the requirement for floating licenses on VMs in 5.3.0 due to issues of VMs being moved around, which violates the intent of the node-locked license (and from my understanding has always been against the terms of use/license agreement anyway). They just didn't enforce it in the licensing code properly until 5.3.0.

In other words, if you were using node-locked licenses on VMs, you were likely breaking the terms of use/license agreement and should not have been doing it.


If you need to have systems that are not attached to a network and want to use node-locked licenses, you will probably need to use hardware instead of VMs.
Shortcuts usually aren't...

merklh
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 6:55 pm

Re: No node-locked license for VMs anymore?

Post by merklh » Mon May 16, 2016 7:50 pm

We have an unlimited license so I thought it's unlimited :-). The VM restriction feels like a limit to me.

Using hardware instead of VMs would pretty much require us to leave Ranorex for cost reasons. We will have to check with them what they can offer.

krstcs
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 2683
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 4:14 pm
Location: Austin, Texas, USA

Re: No node-locked license for VMs anymore?

Post by krstcs » Mon May 16, 2016 8:34 pm

There are ways you can setup VMs to only have a network connection to the Ranorex License server and nothing else. You can set the license server to have 2 NICs (really easy if the server is a VM also) and not to route between them. Set one NIC to the normal IP and the other to the private IP. Then the 'offline' VMs can see it on their private network, but won't have access to anything else and your other test systems can still see it as they would normally. This would require some coordination with network admins, if you have them, but they should know how to setup a private VLAN for those systems.


'Unlimited' here refers to the number of license that can be used at the same time, not the places they can be used. The point of a license, by definition, is to limit what can and can't be done with the associated software.
Shortcuts usually aren't...

merklh
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 6:55 pm

Re: No node-locked license for VMs anymore?

Post by merklh » Mon May 16, 2016 11:32 pm

We do medical device testing so adding any kind network connection is very questionable. I hope we can work something out with Ranorex, otherwise it may be time to leave which I really don't want to because Ranorex is a very good tool.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: No node-locked license for VMs anymore?

Post by Support Team » Tue May 17, 2016 1:14 pm

Hello,

as already mentioned from krstcs, please get in contact with us via email [email protected] in order to discuss your questions.

Looking forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,
Robert
.
Image