No rxlog.data.tmp available after killing ranorex-suite

Ask general questions here.
axelvs
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2012 10:42 am

No rxlog.data.tmp available after killing ranorex-suite

Post by axelvs » Wed Oct 23, 2013 1:10 pm

A couple of weeks ago we switched from Ranorex 3.3.3 to Ranorex 4.1.1.

The log files are now sepearted to rxlog.data and rxlog. The problem is that when we kill the execution of a testuite by killing the process (this is done by a watchdog we developed), there is no rxlog.data and no rxlog.data.tmp. The results of the testrun before the kill seems to be gone :(.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: No rxlog.data.tmp available after killing ranorex-suite

Post by Support Team » Thu Oct 24, 2013 1:02 pm

Hello axelvs,

In general, rxlog and rxlog.data file should be generated even if you kill the process.
Unfortunately, I couldn't reproduce your issue on my system.
Do you experience it if you create a new solution with a new recording as well?
Does it make any difference if you kill the process with the Task Manager?

Thanks in advance.

Regards,
Markus (T)
.
Image

axelvs
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2012 10:42 am

Re: No rxlog.data.tmp available after killing ranorex-suite

Post by axelvs » Fri Oct 25, 2013 7:03 am

Hello Markus,
thanks for the fast response.

I was wrong. The rxlog.data.tmp file is actually created (sorry for this one). The only problem is it is not located in the same directory as the rxlog file (i changed the location with the "/rf:<filelocation>" argument on suite execution). Instead I found it in the working directory of the suite where i didn't expect it.

When the suite finishes regularly everything is fine and both files and up where I specified it with the /rf: option.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: No rxlog.data.tmp available after killing ranorex-suite

Post by Support Team » Wed Oct 30, 2013 6:34 pm

Hello Alexvs,

Please close the Ranorex exe by using the close and not the kill method:
// Close process by sending a close message to its main window.
myProcess.CloseMainWindow();
// Free resources associated with process.
myProcess.Close();
Does it work when you close it this way?

Regards,
Markus
.
Image