Not able to enter global variable value in TestSuite

Ask general questions here.
Ajitpatil3011
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2019 4:14 pm

Not able to enter global variable value in TestSuite

Post by Ajitpatil3011 » Tue Dec 17, 2019 9:49 am

Hello There,

I have created two recordings with a global variable in it, This variable has default values assigned. I run these recordings independently, those are executing successfully. But when I add these test cases in test suite neither I am able to add value for bound variable nor these variables using their default value. These value fields are highlighted by the Blue area by Ranorext itself when I am trying to access these fields.
Attachments
TestSuiteGlobalVariable issue.PNG
TestSuiteGlobalVariable issue.PNG (8.43 KiB) Viewed 204 times

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 6188
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Not able to enter global variable value in TestSuite

Post by odklizec » Tue Dec 17, 2019 10:26 am

Hi,

Global Parameters are editable only at Test Suite level! They cannot be edited in linked test cases/smart folders.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

Ajitpatil3011
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2019 4:14 pm

Re: Not able to enter global variable value in TestSuite

Post by Ajitpatil3011 » Tue Dec 17, 2019 10:33 am

Hi Pavel,

Sorry for the incomplete screenshot.

I am trying to edit it from the test suite only. But still, it is non-editable and highlighted in blue color when I double click on it.
Attachments
TestSuite.PNG
TestSuite.PNG (65.1 KiB) Viewed 200 times

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 6188
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Not able to enter global variable value in TestSuite

Post by odklizec » Tue Dec 17, 2019 1:58 pm

Hi,

You must edit Global Parameters at Test Suite level! Just right click XLDBAutomation test suite node and from the appeared context menu, select Global Parameters option. Hope this helps?
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

Ajitpatil3011
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2019 4:14 pm

Re: Not able to enter global variable value in TestSuite

Post by Ajitpatil3011 » Wed Dec 18, 2019 9:29 am

Hi Pavel,

Yes This worked.

Thank you very much :-)