Not able to recognize GUi element

Technology specific object identification, supported applications, web technologies, and 3rd party controls.
kgasimov
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2014 9:55 am

Not able to recognize GUi element

Post by kgasimov » Mon Nov 02, 2015 2:06 pm

Hi,

After upgrade to 5.4.3 I have a problem with regocnize of GUI elements. What can cause this?

Kamal

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3930
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Not able to recognize GUi element

Post by odklizec » Mon Nov 02, 2015 2:20 pm

Hi,

It's hard to say without more details about your AUT, what version of Ranorex you upgraded from, etc...

Please answer the following questions...
- what error message exactly you getting?
- tell us more about the failing GUI element (used GUI technology). Ranorex snapshot would be extremely helpful!
- xpath that worked fine in your previous Ranorex version?
- what's the xpath if you track the element with 5.4.3?
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

kgasimov
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2014 9:55 am

Re: Not able to recognize GUi element

Post by kgasimov » Mon Nov 02, 2015 2:34 pm

- The previous version was 5.2 and worked fine.
- There are not any error message.
- Header of page, manu item, button and etc
- Because I can not recognize GUI element, there are not any xpath.

Print screen sent to [email protected]

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3930
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Not able to recognize GUi element

Post by odklizec » Mon Nov 02, 2015 2:51 pm

OK, there were many breaking changes introduced between 5.2 and 5.4.3. You need to check release notes available here:
http://www.ranorex.com/free-trial/release-notes.html
There were introduced also new native plugins (WPF, JAVA SWT, and maybe some more), which replaced old plugins).

Sending screenshot will probably not help anything as the screenshot is not very useful here. What I've asked about is a Ranorex Snapshot. It's a special XML file holding the structure of GUI, which can be saved and open via Ranorex Spy. You can find more details about it here:
http://www.ranorex.com/support/user-gui ... files.html
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

kgasimov
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2014 9:55 am

Re: Not able to recognize GUi element

Post by kgasimov » Mon Nov 02, 2015 3:02 pm

Hi,

I sent snapshot of my app to support email

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Not able to recognize GUi element

Post by Support Team » Thu Nov 12, 2015 11:36 am

Hi all,

I just want to inform you that the problem was related to a corrupt installation of the .NET Framework.
We have resolved the issue by performing a clean installation of all components (.NET Framework and Software Prerequisites)

Regards,
Markus (S)
.
Image