Not able to work with WPF Grid object in RightNow CX application

Technology specific object identification, supported applications, web technologies, and 3rd party controls.
vikaskumar1985
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2018 3:58 am

Not able to work with WPF Grid object in RightNow CX application

Post by vikaskumar1985 » Mon Aug 27, 2018 4:59 am

Hi Team,

I am trying to automate oracle service cloud application with Ranorex. It is a desktop based application build mostly with .net,WPF objects.

Ranorex is able to identify most of the objects but having issue with one of the grid tables.
Grid_Object_Screen.jpg
Grid_Object_Screen.jpg (343.9 KiB) Viewed 111 times
Ranorex identify this grid table as tab and can not get the rows and columns of it.
Ranorex_Object_Spy_Screen.jpg
Ranorex_Object_Spy_Screen.jpg (384.53 KiB) Viewed 111 times
Please find below other required details below.

Operating system : Windows 10
Ranorex version : 8.2.1
.Net Runtime version : 4.0.30319.42000

Snapshot of the application is also attached.
RightNowCX_RanorexSnapshot.rxsnp
(57.2 KiB) Downloaded 2 times
Can someone please help me.


Thanks,
Vikas Kumar

McTurtle
Posts: 191
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2017 10:37 am
Location: Benedikt, Slovenia

Re: Not able to work with WPF Grid object in RightNow CX application

Post by McTurtle » Tue Aug 28, 2018 2:16 pm

Hello Vikas,

There is some sort of security related exception/warning when in your snapshot:

Failed to instrument WPF process. UI element identification capabilities for this window are limited.

Exception while initializing WPF proxy: System.Runtime.Serialization.SerializationException: Because of security restrictions, the type Ranorex.Plugin.Wpf.TreeBuildConfiguration cannot be accessed. ---> System.Security.SecurityException: Request failed.
at System.Runtime.Serialization.FormatterServices.nativeGetSafeUninitializedObject(RuntimeType type)...


Have you already tried starting Ranorex Spy as admin? Did you set the plug-in settings to UiaOnly? If so, then please also change the Wpf-settings to WpfImprovedOnly:
WpfImprovedOnly.png
WpfImprovedOnly.png (37.03 KiB) Viewed 99 times
Furthermore, is Ranorex installed on the C-drive or is it in some non-standard location?

Regards,
McTurtle

vikaskumar1985
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2018 3:58 am

Re: Not able to work with WPF Grid object in RightNow CX application

Post by vikaskumar1985 » Wed Aug 29, 2018 3:07 am

Hi McTurtle,

I have tried starting spy and ranorex studio as admin but same behavior. The security warning message is showing up. We checked with dev team about any possible restriction from their side but as per them they have not put any restriction on this object.

Plugin setting is already set to "WpfImprovedOnly" value.

And ranorex installation is in C drive only.
Ranorex_WPFPlugin_Screen.jpg
Ranorex_WPFPlugin_Screen.jpg (444.54 KiB) Viewed 96 times



I am clueless why it is not identifying this object.


Thanks,
Vikas Kumar

McTurtle
Posts: 191
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2017 10:37 am
Location: Benedikt, Slovenia

Re: Not able to work with WPF Grid object in RightNow CX application

Post by McTurtle » Thu Aug 30, 2018 10:20 am

Hi Vikas,

Could it be that some AUT related files are on a network drive? Please make sure that no part of the Ranorex test or AUT is subject to restricted user permissions.

Other than this, I can only suggest to you to contact the Ranorex support team: Support portal
They do a pretty good job with analyzing this issues ;)

Regards,
McTurtle