NUnit

Ask general questions here.
atom
Posts: 357
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2008 10:14 pm
Location: Dublin, Ireland

NUnit

Post by atom » Tue Jan 20, 2009 10:11 pm

Hiya,

Are test case's written using ranorex, compatible with Nunit ?
At the moment we use CruiseControl, NAnt, NUnit for our unit testing
We would like to interate GUI testing in the same process.
Id like to identify test case in Ranorex using the NUnit macros, and execute them via NAnt build files ... is this possible?


Thanks

Skarlso
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2008 8:11 am

Post by Skarlso » Wed Jan 21, 2009 7:26 am

Hi!

Yes. If you write your test case to be able to run under NUnit with [Test] and [TestFixture] and [Setup] etc... Ranorex will have no problem with it. The Ranorex under core is SharpDevelop so it is okey. Also in Ranorex 1.5 there is an NUnit integrated which you can reach under View -> Unit Test.

Sadly i cannot find this feature under 2.0. I too am using Nunit and Ranorex together.

Regards,
Gergely.

atom
Posts: 357
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2008 10:14 pm
Location: Dublin, Ireland

Post by atom » Wed Jan 21, 2009 8:57 am

Hi!

Wow sounds nice... i didnt want to have 2 seperate systems for Unit and GUI tests. BTW - how do you organise the execution of your test case's with NUnit? It seems there was a concept of Suite in NUnit but its been removed

Thanks
Clayton

Skarlso
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2008 8:11 am

Post by Skarlso » Wed Jan 21, 2009 10:22 am

I'm not sure i understand what you mean under organize.

I'm using folders like : Smoke Tests, Regression Tests, Test Cases, Benchmark Tests. This way when i write tests into each of these folders, under Nunit this will appear in a Tree view nice and organized.

I never used anything else to be honest :)

Gergely.