OCR

Ask general questions here.
atom
Posts: 357
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2008 11:14 pm
Location: Dublin, Ireland

OCR

Post by atom » Mon Mar 08, 2010 7:23 pm

Hi All,

For controls that you just want to strip the text content off (e.g. stubborn menu's!),
We found the following quite useful (and cheap)...

http://www.skesoft.com/index.htm

Its not 100% accurate because it doesnt contain a dictionary of words, but is useable enough.
It would be great if Ranorex provided something similar :-)

Cheers

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: OCR

Post by Support Team » Tue Mar 09, 2010 2:28 pm

Hey atom,

Thanks for the link. The library you suggested does not perform OCR, though, but some kind of GDI text API hijacking. Doesnt work with 64bit yet, but could be useful for legacy applications like Outlook 2007 ;)

We will give it a thought .. real OCR might also be useful ..

Michael
Ranorex Team
.
Image

atom
Posts: 357
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2008 11:14 pm
Location: Dublin, Ireland

Re: OCR

Post by atom » Tue Mar 09, 2010 5:53 pm

Hiya

The difference can be "real" OCR can be slow, this GDI hijacking is quite fast... but not always accurate
We are now using it for owner drawn menu's, where ranorex cannot find the menu items
We use it to capture all text to a list, then from the list find the index position of a menu item, we then build a string like {alt}{enter}{down}...{down}{enter} to select the item!

Cheers

User avatar
Ciege
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 1335
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 6:46 pm
Location: Arizona, USA

Re: OCR

Post by Ciege » Tue Mar 09, 2010 7:46 pm

Especially in a quality position... why would you not want accuracy regardless of speed.
Even if it is fast, if you cannot know that the answer is correct it should be deemed wrong.
In my humble opinion...
If this or any response has helped you, please reply to the thread stating that it worked so other people with a similar issue will know how you fixed your issue!

Ciege...

atom
Posts: 357
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2008 11:14 pm
Location: Dublin, Ireland

Re: OCR

Post by atom » Wed Mar 10, 2010 10:39 am

For menu's once we have captured the text, we do a sub string search, not an exact match...