"Open report after execution" does not work

Bug reports.
lostinspace
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2016 3:54 am

Re: "Open report after execution" does not work

Post by lostinspace » Wed Oct 19, 2016 9:41 pm

I was in this state for about a day and noticed mhare's comment that he simply deleted

C:\Users\YOUR_USER_NAME\AppData\Roaming\RanorexRecentReports.dat"

. I did the same and it cleared up my issue. Of note the file was 0 bytes when I deleted it.

neilw
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 3:02 am
Location: Australia

Re: "Open report after execution" does not work

Post by neilw » Tue Nov 08, 2016 4:24 am

Hi Support,

I too have now experienced this issue where Ranorex no longer automatically opens the report.
I have read through these posts and I do not have file C:\Users\YOUR_USER_NAME\AppData\Roaming\RanorexRecentReports.dat" so this is not the issue. I have also searched my C: drive for this and it does not exist.

I am running Ranorex Version: 6.1.0 (.NET Runtime Version: 4.0.30319.42000)

This had been working ok up until about 3 days ago.
Under 'Tools > Options > Ranorex Report Viewer' I have all 3 options checked.

I even created a new solution and recorded a basic script and when I run this, still no report is displayed.

Anyone have any other ideas I can check.
Any/All help greatly appreciated.

Regards,
Neil

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: "Open report after execution" does not work

Post by Support Team » Thu Nov 10, 2016 3:19 pm

Hi Neil,

Since you have mentioned that it worked until a few days ago, I'd like to ask you what exactly has changed when it stopped working.
Please also let me know which OS you are currently using on your machine and if you have multiple users on it.

Additionally, please let me know if you are using a custom report directory.

Thank you.
Regards,
Markus (S)
.
Image

dugovic.milan
Posts: 41
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2016 1:19 pm
Location: Frankfurt, Germany
Contact:

Re: "Open report after execution" does not work

Post by dugovic.milan » Wed Nov 23, 2016 3:29 pm

Hi, I'm having the same issues...

RF - Report File
RFD - Report File Directory
PD - Process Dialog

And here's my why...

Once I've changed RF to HTML-Format and set RFD to my desktop folder. I also activated the PD for the whole test suite... In this regard, I'm not able to turn it off again, even when I deleted the RanorexRecentReports.dat file and had PD turned off -- the Ranorex will automatically tick this box to "true" and PD will be shown during the test.
Attachments
PD.PNG
Process Dialog Screenshot
PD.PNG (990 Bytes) Viewed 787 times
Ranorex 8.3.0

asdf
Posts: 174
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2016 3:16 pm

Re: "Open report after execution" does not work

Post by asdf » Thu Nov 24, 2016 3:00 pm

Hi Milan,

There was a bug with the progress dialog in a previous version of Ranorex.
I would suggest updating your Studio to the most current version (6.1.1) and check if the problem still persists.

Hope this helps.

Sincerely,
asdf

dugovic.milan
Posts: 41
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2016 1:19 pm
Location: Frankfurt, Germany
Contact:

Re: "Open report after execution" does not work

Post by dugovic.milan » Fri Nov 25, 2016 9:17 am

asdf wrote:Hi Milan,

There was a bug with the progress dialog in a previous version of Ranorex.
I would suggest updating your Studio to the most current version (6.1.1) and check if the problem still persists.

Hope this helps.

Sincerely,
asdf
Hmmm, that's weird. I forgot to mention... I'm running the latest Version, 6.1.1!
Ranorex 8.3.0

mjbalcer
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2014 12:46 am
Location: San Francisco, CA
Contact:

Re: "Open report after execution" does not work

Post by mjbalcer » Sun Nov 27, 2016 1:17 am

dugovic.milan wrote:
asdf wrote:Hi Milan,

There was a bug with the progress dialog in a previous version of Ranorex.
I would suggest updating your Studio to the most current version (6.1.1) and check if the problem still persists.

Hope this helps.

Sincerely,
asdf
Hmmm, that's weird. I forgot to mention... I'm running the latest Version, 6.1.1!
I can report the same problem. The reports no longer open automatically after I upgraded to 6.1.1.

I suspected that the problem may be caused by bad settings file(s) so I deleted (after saving backup copies) all of the Ranorex settings files in the %USERPROFILE\AppData\Ranorex directory. After that, reports displayed correctly in 6.1.1.
Marc J. Balcer
Chief Architect
Model Compilers LLC

jindrich.matous
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Apr 05, 2017 9:39 am

Re: "Open report after execution" does not work

Post by jindrich.matous » Thu Apr 06, 2017 12:10 pm

Hallo,
I have same issue with Ranorex 6.2 on Windows 10, .NET 4.0.30319.42000.
It works, but without some setting changes it stopped working. I changed only platform settings.
J.Matous

dpFourOFour
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2016 9:24 am

Re: "Open report after execution" does not work

Post by dpFourOFour » Fri Apr 07, 2017 9:58 pm

Hi J.Matous,

May I ask you if you have already tried deleting the RanorexRecentReports.dat file from your %appdata% directory?

Best Regards,
DP
Please always include the following information to your posts
  • Ranorex Version
  • OS Version