Oracle Forms - Tables not getting identified

Ask general questions here.
ankurm.245
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2018 5:26 am

Oracle Forms - Tables not getting identified

Post by ankurm.245 » Fri Mar 15, 2019 9:15 am

hi,

I am working on the oracle forms but ranorex is unable to identify the table.
Its identify it as an 'Element' and that too as a single element as seen in the screenshot.
Kindly find attached the screenshots for more details.(snapshot cannot be attached as its size is too big)
The attachment OracleTables.jpg is no longer available
Attachments
OracleTables.jpg
OracleTables.jpg (321.58 KiB) Viewed 52 times
I=AM!

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 4421
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Oracle Forms - Tables not getting identified

Post by odklizec » Fri Mar 15, 2019 9:28 am

Hi,

Just in case, are you using most recent Ranorex 8.3.3 or 9.0? If not, try to update Ranorex. If updating does not help, you may be out of luck and the only other possible solution (workaround) could be using GDI Capture approach. This could help you with extracting texts from problematic table element, but that's about it. There will be no table structure available and you will have to work with row/column values, stored in each RAWText element.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

ankurm.245
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2018 5:26 am

Re: Oracle Forms - Tables not getting identified

Post by ankurm.245 » Sun Mar 17, 2019 5:10 pm

Thanks a lot.
Currently with 9.0.0 and seems like Ranorex is unable to identify this.

Will try out the GDI approach you shared. Hope that works the way I want. :)
I=AM!

ankurm.245
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2018 5:26 am

Re: Oracle Forms - Tables not getting identified

Post by ankurm.245 » Wed Mar 20, 2019 10:03 am

I tried following the steps as mentioned in the link you shared, but unfortunately I don't see any GDI option.
Ranorex: 9.0.0

See attached screenshot for the same
No GDI Option in Context Menu.jpg
No GDI Option in Context Menu.jpg (614.44 KiB) Viewed 24 times
I=AM!

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 4421
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Oracle Forms - Tables not getting identified

Post by odklizec » Wed Mar 20, 2019 10:32 am

Hi,

Try the parent container.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11774
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Oracle Forms - Tables not getting identified

Post by Support Team » Thu Mar 21, 2019 12:26 pm

Hello everyone,

I'm afraid GDI does not work on Java elements. To be exact, it is only available for Win32 and Winforms elements.
Also, I'm afraid Ranorex currently doesn't support Oracle forms list view elements. Would it be possible to provide a sample application containing this element, so that we can better analyze how this can be solved?

Thank you!

Sincerely,
Bernhard
.
Image

ankurm.245
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2018 5:26 am

Re: Oracle Forms - Tables not getting identified

Post by ankurm.245 » Mon Mar 25, 2019 9:17 am

hi,

I am not able to attach the snapshot as its more than 10MBs.
Any other way I can share that?
I=AM!

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 4421
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Oracle Forms - Tables not getting identified

Post by odklizec » Mon Mar 25, 2019 9:20 am

Hi,

Use a public file sharing service, like dropbox, onedrive or google drive and here post a link. Thanks.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration