Override Reason Popup not working

Ask general questions here.
PJ-UHN
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Mar 12, 2013 7:46 pm

Override Reason Popup not working

Post by PJ-UHN » Tue May 14, 2013 3:26 pm

hi can somebody tell me how i can select this dropdown in ranorex. http://screencast.com/t/ZBxX5v5Qw.

Here is the recorded line in ranorex Image

And here is what i see when i open up ViewSpy http://screencast.com/t/EApVQaHFM

When i execute my test case ranorex fails to find 'overrideReasonPopup466890496' not sure what i need to do make this work

thanks

PJ-UHN
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Mar 12, 2013 7:46 pm

Re: Override Reason Popup not working

Post by PJ-UHN » Tue May 14, 2013 3:27 pm

I should also add that this is a drop down list but the element is labeled as Popup, not sure if this helps

thanks

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Override Reason Popup not working

Post by Support Team » Tue May 14, 2013 4:33 pm

Hello,

Unfortunately the second image is not valid
Could you please post a Ranorex Snapshot file from the element and the RanorexPath, which is used in the repository? Please compare the RanorexPath in Spy with the path in your repository.
Thank you!

Regards,
Bernhard
.
Image

PJ-UHN
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Mar 12, 2013 7:46 pm

Re: Override Reason Popup not working

Post by PJ-UHN » Tue May 14, 2013 4:58 pm


PJ-UHN
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Mar 12, 2013 7:46 pm

Re: Override Reason Popup not working

Post by PJ-UHN » Tue May 14, 2013 5:06 pm

when i compared the path i noticed there is a dynamic id being used, so i created the reg-ex rule for it

Element ID
overrideReasonPopup153083278

Regex expression
[aA-zZ]+[0-9]*

but still no luck
Mouse_61a2dc02-43c2-4a48-a4fe-302d9c294bb7.jpg
Mouse_61a2dc02-43c2-4a48-a4fe-302d9c294bb7.jpg (7.31 KiB) Viewed 843 times
Mouse_4f332a0c-87ad-4ff4-aa72-4e862acc1f70.jpg
Mouse_4f332a0c-87ad-4ff4-aa72-4e862acc1f70.jpg (18.02 KiB) Viewed 843 times
thanks

blackout
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Mar 14, 2013 10:07 am

Re: Override Reason Popup not working

Post by blackout » Tue May 14, 2013 6:31 pm

if it's the changing/dynamic ID that's giving you the grief, you can always set the repository item XPath where this random ID is situated from:

Code: Select all

[#'exampleID12345']
which I'm imagining it to display as, to:

Code: Select all

[@id~'.*']
This should equate to "For any value of 'id' in this location"...unless I'm mistaken?

User avatar
Ciege
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 1335
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 6:46 pm
Location: Arizona, USA

Re: Override Reason Popup not working

Post by Ciege » Tue May 14, 2013 6:50 pm

As support has already requested... Please post a Ranorex Snapshot file from the element...
If this or any response has helped you, please reply to the thread stating that it worked so other people with a similar issue will know how you fixed your issue!

Ciege...

PJ-UHN
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Mar 12, 2013 7:46 pm

Re: Override Reason Popup not working

Post by PJ-UHN » Wed May 15, 2013 5:19 pm

sorry it took so long to reply but here is the snapshot
Attachments
dropdown.rxsnp
(334.87 KiB) Downloaded 153 times

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Override Reason Popup not working

Post by Support Team » Thu May 16, 2013 4:26 pm

Hello,

Thank you for the snapshot file.
There is a new bolg on our website that describes how to work with dynamic id's (Automated Testing and Dynamic IDs).
Please let me know if this help solving your issue.

Regards,
Bernhard
.
Image

omayer
Posts: 458
Joined: Thu Oct 28, 2010 6:14 pm

Re: Override Reason Popup not working

Post by omayer » Thu May 16, 2013 5:25 pm

Thank you Bernhard , this is very helpful and I was looking this for a long time.
Tipu