Parent Repository Folder warning

Ranorex Spy, Recorder, and Studio.
qa-auto
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Aug 05, 2019 10:46 pm

Parent Repository Folder warning

Post by qa-auto » Mon Sep 16, 2019 9:11 pm

Hi,

After I did some reorg of the repository Friday, some elements that I verify finding in Studio's Spy are showing a warning message:

"One element found for current selection. The parent repository folder for this item could not be identified."

What impact does this have? How do I get rid of it?

Thanks for your help.
Lorinda

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11987
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Parent Repository Folder warning

Post by Support Team » Mon Sep 16, 2019 9:14 pm

Hi Lorinda,

Are you able to provide your repository file so I can look at it in detail? Generally it is named <projectname>Repository.rxrep and can be found in the project's root folder.
1.png
1.png (6.58 KiB) Viewed 66 times

Looking forward to your reply.

Cheers,
Ned
.
Image

qa-auto
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Aug 05, 2019 10:46 pm

Re: Parent Repository Folder warning

Post by qa-auto » Mon Sep 16, 2019 9:46 pm

Sure. See attached.
Attachments
BATRepository.rxrep
(472.35 KiB) Downloaded 3 times

qa-auto
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Aug 05, 2019 10:46 pm

Re: Parent Repository Folder warning

Post by qa-auto » Tue Sep 17, 2019 7:27 pm

Any thoughts on the repos I posted?

Thanks for checking it out.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11987
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Parent Repository Folder warning

Post by Support Team » Tue Sep 17, 2019 9:32 pm

Hi Lorinda,

I copied the repository into my sample project, used a few random items in my recording modules, and built the project without any warnings. Does the warning indicate what element specifically is causing the warning? If not, I may need your entire solution (compressed) to further analyze. You can create a support ticket here if you wish to troubleshoot this one-on-one in private.

Also note, since this is only a warning and not an error, it technically can be disregarded and you can continue developing/running your test. However, it is a best practice to fix warnings as these can lead to issues in the future.

Cheers,
Ned
.
Image