Path Editor

Ranorex Spy, Recorder, and Studio.
johannes
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2016 12:40 pm

Path Editor

Post by johannes » Thu Jan 04, 2018 2:24 pm

Hi,

we use Ranorex 6.2, our AUT is based on Electron

When recording the result returns the whole Path - sometimes it´s to´much and all nodes are not necessary to catch the Control in question.

It is possible to configure the record mode for this ?

thx Hannes
Attachments
2018-01-04 14_21_16-Editing.png
2018-01-04 14_21_16-Editing.png (30.26 KiB) Viewed 370 times

McTurtle
Posts: 191
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2017 10:37 am
Location: Benedikt, Slovenia

Re: Path Editor

Post by McTurtle » Fri Jan 05, 2018 3:17 pm

Hello Johannes,

Please see the following page of the user guide: AdvancedSettings

Scroll down to "RanoreXPath generation mode:" and see if the "StepCostReduce" option gives you a path more to your liking. If the resulting path is not short enough, then you will probably have to manually change it.

Regards,
McTurtle

bewiss
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2014 3:11 pm

Re: Path Editor

Post by bewiss » Tue Jan 09, 2018 2:03 pm

If your element is represented by an unique id, why do you use SPY at all. Trim your xPath to only one element by using '//'
Creating an new item in your repository only takes a few seconds!
Attachments
ranorex_item.png
ranorex_item.png (3.18 KiB) Viewed 339 times

johannes
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2016 12:40 pm

Re: Path Editor

Post by johannes » Tue Jan 09, 2018 2:18 pm

Hi, thanks...

i´m not so firm with this tool. but for me the AUT is a black blox - so I don´t know the value of the ID. Therefore I use the SPY (Recording mode). And than it get back the whole Path. I thought there is a possibility to trim before tracking without editing manually after that.