Playing test is unable to perform the key sequence

Ask general questions here.
lpierre
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2015 9:17 pm

Playing test is unable to perform the key sequence

Post by lpierre » Sun Oct 25, 2015 3:05 pm

Hi all,

I've been encountering this issues recently where my tests case are not fully playing properly. Each time it reaches the keys sequence step it kind of freezes but the test reports marks as successful, which is false cause the test is not completed.

My colleague and are working on the same svn code and everything works fine on her pc but not on mine.

We both have the same Pc configuration and spec.

What could be the problem?

Thank you

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Playing test is unable to perform the key sequence

Post by Support Team » Tue Oct 27, 2015 1:02 pm

Hello lpierre,

In order to analyze the issue I would need more detailed information.
May I ask which version of Ranorex you currently use?

Additionally, please upload a Ranorex Snapshot of the corresponding element.
This will help me analyzing the issue.

Thank you in advance.

Regards,
Johannes
.
Image

lpierre
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2015 9:17 pm

Re: Playing test is unable to perform the key sequence

Post by lpierre » Tue Oct 27, 2015 1:54 pm

Hi, we are currently using Ranorex 5.4.1.25490.

As mentionned before, it works perfectly on my colleague's computer. It use

to work on my computer and all of sudden it stops working.


Thank you in advance,
Attachments
Medesync snapshot.rxsnp
(57.68 KiB) Downloaded 37 times

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3908
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Playing test is unable to perform the key sequence

Post by odklizec » Tue Oct 27, 2015 2:28 pm

Hi,

Have you considered using SetValue action instead of key sequence? If there is no onkeypress script behind the input in question, SetValue action is generally more reliable way of setting input values.

Also, I would suggest you to compare your Ranorex Global Settings with your colleagues' settings (you can find them stored in C:\Users\username\AppData\Roaming\RanorexConfig5.xml).
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

lpierre
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2015 9:17 pm

Re: Playing test is unable to perform the key sequence

Post by lpierre » Tue Oct 27, 2015 7:43 pm

We do have the same configuration

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3908
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Playing test is unable to perform the key sequence

Post by odklizec » Wed Oct 28, 2015 8:15 am

Hi,

Unfortunately, it's hard to say what else could be wrong without seeing your recording and AUT. It looks as something machine dependent? Maybe your PC is just slow, there is running something in background that steals your keypresses, etc... It could be just anything? ;)

As mentioned, I would suggest to try the SetValue approach instead of key sequence. SetValue simply sets the value to pointed element without messing with keyboard.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Playing test is unable to perform the key sequence

Post by Support Team » Thu Oct 29, 2015 8:18 am

Hello lpierre,

As odklizec has mentioned, please try setting the value with the 'Set Value'-action.
set_value.png
set_value.png (21.36 KiB) Viewed 479 times
If this doesn't solve the issue, please contact [email protected].

Regards,
Johannes
.
Image

lpierre
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2015 9:17 pm

Re: Playing test is unable to perform the key sequence

Post by lpierre » Thu Oct 29, 2015 6:27 pm

I found out what was the problem. Synergy (Virtual keyboard and mouse share software) was conflicting with Ranorex. I uninstalled it and problem resolved.