Possible to set mouse move speed globally?

Class library usage, coding and language questions.
afrosteve
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2010 10:59 pm

Possible to set mouse move speed globally?

Post by afrosteve » Thu Aug 26, 2010 3:19 pm

Is mouse speed set globally by just setting Mouse.DefaultMoveTime somewhere?

Is it overridden on an individual basis by recordings? Or do recordings follow the DefaultMoveTime?

User avatar
Ciege
Posts: 1336
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 6:46 pm
Location: Arizona, USA

Re: Possible to set mouse move speed globally?

Post by Ciege » Fri Aug 27, 2010 12:27 am

Not sure about in recordings (don't use record/playback) but you can set it in user code and your entire script will follow that setting up until you change it. I usually let it set at the fastest possible and only slow it down when I need to do something that requires a slower mouse move like a drag and drop function.
If this or any response has helped you, please reply to the thread stating that it worked so other people with a similar issue will know how you fixed your issue!

Ciege...

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 12145
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Houston, Texas, USA
Contact:

Re: Possible to set mouse move speed globally?

Post by Support Team » Fri Aug 27, 2010 4:25 pm

afrosteve wrote:Is it overridden on an individual basis by recordings? Or do recordings follow the DefaultMoveTime?
Right now, every recording sets the Mouse.DefaultMoveTime right at the beginning of the generated code. That code was intended to make sure the recording works no matter what the default setting is. However, because of that code you can't just set the DefaultMoveTime once in your code to change the move time for every mouse action.

What you can do is add a user-code-item at the beginning of every recording and set the Mouse.DefaultMoveTime there to your desired value. All mouse items should then use the default move time (unless they explicitly specify a different move time in the generated code; an explicit move time for a mouse item is generated if the DefaultMoveTime when recording the action is different to the DefaultMoveTime set when generating the code for the recording).

We already have a bug entry in our list to revise the DefaultMoveTime functionality. Basically, the idea is to configure for a recording or record item whether to use the default or a specific move time.

Regards,
Alex
Ranorex Team

afrosteve
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2010 10:59 pm

Re: Possible to set mouse move speed globally?

Post by afrosteve » Fri Sep 10, 2010 3:51 pm

Ok, great. Thanks for the clarification.

Pixi6s
Posts: 92
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2011 8:57 pm

Re: Possible to set mouse move speed globally?

Post by Pixi6s » Fri Oct 28, 2011 3:21 pm

Did the planned changes for the mouse move time ever go in or is this still the solution?
thanks

Pixi6s
Posts: 92
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2011 8:57 pm

Re: Possible to set mouse move speed globally?

Post by Pixi6s » Fri Nov 11, 2011 4:35 pm

Hello Support Team!

Can we set the global mouse move over yet in version 3.1.1 and how would i go about doing that?

Thanks
Sierra

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 12145
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Houston, Texas, USA
Contact:

Re: Possible to set mouse move speed globally?

Post by Support Team » Mon Nov 14, 2011 9:25 am

Hi,

the mouse move time setting is a "per recording" setting, as only the module ones how fast the mouse should move within it to make the replay work as expected.
So, it won't be possible to set the mouse move time globally.

Regards,
Tobias
Support Team

Pixi6s
Posts: 92
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2011 8:57 pm

Re: Possible to set mouse move speed globally?

Post by Pixi6s » Mon Nov 14, 2011 4:54 pm

Thanks for the reply. To set the mouse speed for a record module would i follow the steps outlined previously?
What you can do is add a user-code-item at the beginning of every recording and set the Mouse.DefaultMoveTime there to your desired value. All mouse items should then use the default move time (unless they explicitly specify a different move time in the generated code; an explicit move time for a mouse item is generated if the DefaultMoveTime when recording the action is different to the DefaultMoveTime set when generating the code for the recording).
Thanks
Sierra