Print Dialog Not Captured

Ask general questions here.
swainpabitra
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2014 5:21 pm

Print Dialog Not Captured

Post by swainpabitra » Mon Aug 24, 2015 1:01 pm

Hello,

I am recording a new module in which having files to print.
But when i am going to capture the print dialog box it is not capturing the dialog at all. Due to this no repository is created.

Can anyone tell that why this is happening. Please help.

Thank you.

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3937
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Print Dialog Not Captured

Post by odklizec » Mon Aug 24, 2015 1:16 pm

Hi,

You forgot to mention some important details:
Your Ranorex version?
Your OS?
Application under test technology (desktop, mobile, java, html, qt, etc...)?
Please provide snasphot (not screenshot!) of the application under test.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

swainpabitra
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2014 5:21 pm

Re: Print Dialog Not Captured

Post by swainpabitra » Mon Aug 24, 2015 3:31 pm

Hi,
Ranorex version: 5.4
OS:WIndows Xp
Desktop Application: Java based
Its a desktop application so unable to take snapshot, if you want then i can provide only screenshot captured!

Thank You.

krstcs
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 2683
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 4:14 pm
Location: Austin, Texas, USA

Re: Print Dialog Not Captured

Post by krstcs » Mon Aug 24, 2015 3:37 pm

It should not matter whether it's a desktop app or not, it should still be trackable by Ranorex Spy. I use Ranorex Spy to track Java desktop elements all the time and it works perfectly. Taking a Snapshot with Ranorex Spy only requires that the element be tracked.

Have you tried using Ranorex Spy's "Track" capability to track the dialog?


The other option is to use Spy to track the desktop and then take a Ranorex Snapshot of the whole desktop, which should include all children. Just make sure to close everything but Spy and the Java application first so we don't have to wade through so much.
Shortcuts usually aren't...

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3937
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Print Dialog Not Captured

Post by odklizec » Mon Aug 24, 2015 3:43 pm

Hi,

I'm afraid, screenshot may not be very helpful here. Could you at least take a snapshot of the print dialog? I mean, I understand Ranorex cannot identify the elements inside the Print dialog, but does it identify the print dialog itself? If you don't want/cannot post the snapshot here at forum, send it to [email protected] (along with description of your problem).

Also, how exactly is created the Print dialog? Is it system Print dialog or something custom made (java-based)? And finally, please specify the Java version and kind of used Java framework (SWT, AWT, Swing, etc...).
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

swainpabitra
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2014 5:21 pm

Re: Print Dialog Not Captured

Post by swainpabitra » Tue Aug 25, 2015 12:38 pm

Hello,

Yes, i have done by as you suggested to open View Spy and then track the Dialog including its children.
Also tested fine.Thank you for such help.

And its a system dialog as windows provide, not customized and its Java swing framework.
But still having a concern that when ever i start recording its takes time to capture.

I think its a better way to track from spy !!

Again Thank you all for your help.