Problem about manage website

Ask general questions here.
santamaria
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Oct 10, 2015 9:56 am
Location: tech
Contact:

Problem about manage website

Post by santamaria » Mon Oct 12, 2015 9:56 am

Dear all member!
We've created a bunch of website tests that run on desktops supporting Chrome, IE and Firefox. The next phase is to create the same tests for IOS & Android. I'm aware that we can only create them using the rxBrowser. What I would like to know is whether I should use the existing repository or create a new repository solely for IOS & Android? In order to use the existing I would probably need to write some user code that works out what platform the tests are running in.
Just to be clear we're not planing to automate a mobile app, but the idea is to automate web testing on devices.
Having two sets of repositories could be more of a maintenance task when the underline object recognition is more or less the same? Or is it?
Please share any thoughts or experiences or even what's best practise.

Thanks!
Last edited by santamaria on Mon Jun 26, 2017 10:51 am, edited 1 time in total.
Cộng đồng chuyên về đăng ký internet fptlắp mạng fpt hoàng mailắp mạng fpt vinh nhanh nhất.
Khi các bạn có nhu cầu lắp mạng fpt phan thiếtlắp mạng fpt nha trang hãy liên hệ với chúng tôi.

Jagadeeswara
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2015 10:04 am
Location: Bangalore

Re: Problem about manage website

Post by Jagadeeswara » Mon Oct 12, 2015 1:50 pm

Hai Santhamaria,

There is no need to record again on Ios and Android mobile phones if repository exists.If you have test cases of browsers, u can reuse it for mobile browsers .How you did automate on windows ,in the same way u can automate the browsers.There no difference. Ranorex provides robust Xpath.If we have apk of browsers,we can test it.

I think this information may help you

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11710
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Problem about manage website

Post by Support Team » Wed Oct 14, 2015 8:31 am

Hi santamaria,

Basically, you should be able to use your existing repository for testing the website on iOS or android, but you have to be aware that the UI might be different and therefore the path could also be divergent.
Therefore, I’d recommend adapting the path that it would be robust enough to fit both scenarios (desktop/mobile). If you are using Unique ID’s for identifying objects on your website, this should normally not be necessary.

Hope that helps.

Regards,
Markus (S)
.
Image