Problem generating absolute path

Ask general questions here.
KenLee
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed May 09, 2012 10:40 pm

Problem generating absolute path

Post by KenLee » Wed Jul 18, 2012 6:52 pm

Hi,

I am trying to get the absolute path of an Ok button in a remote machine. Is it possible to do that? The best I got was just the path of the remote window. (Identifies only the whole screen of my remote window)

I've also tried creating my own Rxpath with no success.
/form[@title~'^Example.*'/container/button[@accessiblename='OK']

This Ok button is an error generated by our in house app.

Any tips about the exact logic of how view spy generates the path would be great, but it would be better if I could use the view spy in an remote machine.

Thank you for your time.

User avatar
Ciege
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 1335
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 6:46 pm
Location: Arizona, USA

Re: Problem generating absolute path

Post by Ciege » Wed Jul 18, 2012 8:05 pm

Let me see if I am following you correctly...

*) You have Ranorex installed on your host machine.
*) You have an RDP (remote) session opened to a remote machine.
*) From the host machine you are trying to identify a button on the remote machine that is displayed in your RDP client, but you are only seeing the remote machine as one large window with no elements under it.

If all that above is correct then...

You will be unable to see elements on a remote machine with any test automation utility (unless it is a picture comparison) since RDP only displays a graphic of what your remote machine is displaying. It does not allow you to get at the elements of that remote machine...
If this or any response has helped you, please reply to the thread stating that it worked so other people with a similar issue will know how you fixed your issue!

Ciege...

KenLee
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed May 09, 2012 10:40 pm

Re: Problem generating absolute path

Post by KenLee » Wed Jul 18, 2012 9:08 pm

That is correct Ciege. If that is not possible, do you have a way for me to create the ranorex path manually, without the spy?

User avatar
Ciege
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 1335
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 6:46 pm
Location: Arizona, USA

Re: Problem generating absolute path

Post by Ciege » Wed Jul 18, 2012 9:31 pm

Do you have any sort of Ranorex license on that machine?

If you have at least a runtime license you can write a snippet of code that will output all the xpaths that are available (like a RanorexSpy snapshot) then import that into RanorexSpy and view them...

http://www.ranorex.com/forum/create-sna ... t2447.html
If this or any response has helped you, please reply to the thread stating that it worked so other people with a similar issue will know how you fixed your issue!

Ciege...

KenLee
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed May 09, 2012 10:40 pm

Re: Problem generating absolute path

Post by KenLee » Wed Jul 18, 2012 10:35 pm

Yes, we do have a runtime license in our box. I don't understand what the elementPath needs to be inside the file that you linked me to.

Can you teach me how to use this class? Thank you again, Ciege.

User avatar
Ciege
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 1335
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 6:46 pm
Location: Arizona, USA

Re: Problem generating absolute path

Post by Ciege » Wed Jul 18, 2012 10:43 pm

If this or any response has helped you, please reply to the thread stating that it worked so other people with a similar issue will know how you fixed your issue!

Ciege...