Problem in selecting a node from unknown tree

Technology specific object identification, supported applications, web technologies, and 3rd party controls.
balakrishna
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2010 6:48 am

Problem in selecting a node from unknown tree

Post by balakrishna » Mon Nov 29, 2010 7:54 am

Hi,
i have to select a perticular node(Ex: Acute MI) from a Unknown tree (recognising as UnknownTVirtualstring Tree)
Can anyone suggest how to do this .

Thanks

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Problem in selecting a node from unknown tree

Post by Support Team » Mon Nov 29, 2010 8:59 am

Hi balakrishna,
could you please support us with more information (Name, Technology...) about the 'Unknown Tree' (3rd party tree). Otherwise it's hard to analyze the problem.

Best regards,
Christian
Ranorex Team
.
Image

balakrishna
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2010 6:48 am

Re: Problem in selecting a node from unknown tree

Post by balakrishna » Mon Nov 29, 2010 9:34 am

Hi,
Thanks for your reply,
My application was developed in Delphi,and i am using C# in Ranorex .
I have a tree with some nodes,when i am traking it it is showing "Unknown TVirtualStringTree".
Can u reply me with suggestions how to select a node in that tree.

How to attach a file or image to your forum?,i tried to add file ,but it is not accepting .doc,.bmp
If it accepts i will send a screen shot,so u can easily understand the problem.

Thanks
Attachments
treeproblem.JPG
screen shot of problem
treeproblem.JPG (41.52 KiB) Viewed 1675 times

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Problem in selecting a node from unknown tree

Post by Support Team » Mon Nov 29, 2010 1:11 pm

It seems that the Delphi 'TVirtualStringTree' doesn't implement 'MSAA'. So you can't automate the 3rd party tree the common way. However you can use the GDI plugin, image recognition or relative coordinates.

see:
- gdi plugin: http://www.ranorex.com/blog/automation- ... re-plug-in
- image recognition: http://www.ranorex.com/support/user-gui ... ition.html

Best regards,
Christian
Ranorex Team
.
Image

balakrishna
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2010 6:48 am

Re: Problem in selecting a node from unknown tree

Post by balakrishna » Wed Dec 22, 2010 10:02 am

HI,

Thanks for Your Reply.
As you have provided the GDI plugins these GDI Plugins are working in only to recognize Text in our Application.which is developed using Delphi technology.but it is not recognizing any images in the application.
As you have given some URL to recognize the image but in that code it is specifying that we can able to find the image in an application only if we can able to know the name of the image. But by using co-ordinates we can able to recognize the image but we don't want to use co ordinates in our script..if you have any solution for this Please Reply me ASAP.

Regards,

Naresh.P

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Problem in selecting a node from unknown tree

Post by Support Team » Wed Dec 22, 2010 1:29 pm

Hi,

if you'd like to do image based automation just have a look at following chapter of our user guide:
http://www.ranorex.com/support/user-gui ... ation.html

There is a screencast too where the imaging capabilities of Ranorex are described:
http://www.ranorex.com/support/screencasts.html

If you need more additional information within your controls you perhaps have to implement accessibility for these. If you want to get more information about implementing accessibility just have a look at following link:
http://www.ranorex.com/blog/enabling-au ... s-controls

I hope this will help you.

Regards,
Tobias
Support Team