Problem with Windows7 System Tray icon

Ask general questions here.
vengaishiva
Posts: 62
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2011 4:40 pm

Problem with Windows7 System Tray icon

Post by vengaishiva » Wed Mar 23, 2011 12:16 pm

Hi,
I have an application icon in system tray (Windows 7 OS). Whenver i try to click the icon by automating, instead of clicking ranorex code drag and drops the icon. (To say more precisely, the icon is dragged and dropped into the hidden icons area). Whats the reason for this? Expecting your help.
Regards,
Siva R S

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Problem with Windows7 System Tray icon

Post by Support Team » Wed Mar 23, 2011 1:10 pm

Hi,

I've just tried to reproduce this issue but had no success till now.
So I need some further information, the precisely the better.
Did you do the automation via recorder or by writing your own code?
What exactly are the steps you are performing within your automation.

Kind regards,
Tobias
Support Team
.
Image

vengaishiva
Posts: 62
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2011 4:40 pm

Re: Problem with Windows7 System Tray icon

Post by vengaishiva » Wed Mar 23, 2011 1:56 pm

Hi,
There is an icon in system tray of Windows 7 for my application. When i click the icon it displays a long list of context menu from which i can select anyone. I want to select the 19 th item in the menu list.This is the scenario which i want to automate via code.
The code identifies the application icon in the system tray. But when i call the click method of it, it just drag and drops the icon into hidden icons area. (Please place the application icon near the hidden items button and have some items as hidden in system tray).
Regards,
Siva R S

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Problem with Windows7 System Tray icon

Post by Support Team » Wed Mar 23, 2011 2:15 pm

Hi,

I've just tried it with a system try icon directly next to the hidden items area.
But everything worked as expected.
So, as I assume from your last post you've written your own code.
Can you provide us this code?
Maybe this hwlps us determining the problem.

Kind regards,
Tobias
Support Team
.
Image